New volunteer leaders elected at 2018 AVMA Convention

Published on July 19, 2018

The AVMA House of Delegates (HOD) elected several new volunteer leaders during the 2018 AVMA Convention, including Dr. Grace Bransford as AVMA’s new vice president and Dr. John Howe as president-elect. As the 2018-2019 president-elect, Dr. Howe will become AVMA president in 2019.

The HOD also made numerous appointments to volunteer leadership roles on AVMA councils. All of the volunteer leaders will play critical roles in guiding AVMA’s member-driven mission to serve the veterinary profession’s goals.

As Dr. Howe assumes his role, he’ll continue initiatives to improve member satisfaction and communication to members. As president-elect, Dr. Howe will assist the president and substitute for the president when necessary, preside over all sessions of the HOD, and serve as a voting member of the AVMA Board of Directors. He will begin his presidential term in July 2019. Dr. Howe is the founder and manager of North Country Veterinary Clinic in Grand Rapids, Minn., which is now part of National Veterinary Associates.

As vice president, Dr. Bransford will serve as AVMA’s official liaison to the Student AVMA (SAVMA) and a voting member of the AVMA Board. In this position, she plans to focus on issues of student debt and wellbeing. Dr. Bransford brings unique experience to her position, having worked at several leading advertising agencies prior to beginning her veterinary career. She attended the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, and now owns a small animal practice in San Anselmo, Calif.

Additional appointments to AVMA councils and the House Advisory Committee include:

  • AVMA Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents: Drs. Richard Hill and Jeffrey Powers were named as at-large members of the council, and Dr. Jessica Light was named as an industry-exclusive member of the council. Dr. Michael Strobel was named as a clinical pharmacology representative to the council.
  • AVMA Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine: Drs. Samuel Fassig and Dustin Oedekoven were named to the council as representatives of agricultural agencies.
  • AVMA Council on Research: Dr. Matt Krecic was named as a veterinary medical research member of the council, and Drs. Ayman Sayegh and Kathryn Meurs were named as members representing colleges of veterinary medicine. Dr. Carlos Pereyra was named as a private clinical practice representative to the council.
  • AVMA Council on Veterinary Service: Dr. Tiffany Collins was named as an emerging leader/recent graduate representative to the council, and Drs. Ronald Kelpe and Julie Buford were named as small animal private practice representatives to the council. Additionally, Dr. Robin Paterson was named as a private mixed-animal practice representative to the council.
  • AVMA Judicial Council: Drs. Marthina Greer and Sarah Babcock were named as at-large members of the council.
  • AVMA House Advisory Committee: Drs. Sandra Faeh and Saundra Willis were re-elected for new terms, and Dr. Rex Anderson was named as a new member. Dr. Faeh was subsequently elected House Advisory Committee chair, and Dr. Willis was elected vice chair.

The AVMA’s success depends on our member volunteers, and we have many leadership opportunities for veterinarians with experience and interest in any aspect of veterinary medicine. We encourage all members to consider volunteering.




Add New Comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Please verify that you are not a robot.