Kudos to AVMA Excellence Awards winners

Published on August 08, 2019

Congratulations to eight veterinarians and advocates for veterinary medicine who earned recognition during the AVMA Convention for their accomplishments and service to the veterinary profession.

Please join us in recognizing and celebrating these honorees, who were presented AVMA Excellence Awards last week during our annual meeting in Washington, D.C:

  • Roger K. Mahr: AVMA Award
  • Bret D. Marsh: Public Service Award
  • Mark Cox: Meritorious Service Award
  • Theresa Bernardo: XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize
  • S. Rep. Ted Yoho of Florida: AVMA Advocacy Award
  • Mark Lutschaunig, Dr. Joseph H. Kinnarney, and Isham R. Jones III: President’s Award

We thank them for their commitment to veterinary medicine and their contributions in a wide range of fields, from public service to private practice, research to education, and policy to advocacy. Thanks also to the AVMA members who nominated them to be recognized with AVMA Excellence Awards.

Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Mark Cox
Dr. Cox is recognized for his commitment to organized veterinary medicine throughout his career. He has held key leadership roles in the Southern New Mexico Veterinary Association, El Paso VMA, Texas VMA, and the AVMA (including House of Delegates representative).

AVMA Award: Dr. Roger K. Mahr
Dr. Mahr, an AVMA past president, is recognized for contributions to advancing veterinary medicine in its organizational aspects. He has served as president of the Chicago VMA, the Illinois State VMA, and as executive director of the One Health Commission.

AVMA Advocacy Award: U.S. Rep. Ted Yoho of Florida
Rep. Yoho, a veterinarian, is recognized for his work to advance legislation on behalf of the veterinary profession. As a member of the House Agriculture Committee and cochair of the Veterinary Medicine Caucus, he is instrumental in voicing veterinary priorities on Capitol Hill. Last week Dr. Yoho addressed AVMA members about the importance of veterinary advocacy in our first-ever Advocacy in Action workshop.

Public Service Award: Dr. Bret D. Marsh
As Indiana state veterinarian, Dr. Marsh is recognized for outstanding service in the practice of public health and regulatory veterinary medicine. He is an adviser to the Indiana State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and has held leadership positions in the AVMA (including treasurer and House of Delegates representative), Indiana VMA, and United States Animal Health Association.

XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize: Dr. Theresa Bernardo
Dr. Bernardo, who developed trilingual software for global disease reporting and mapping, is honored for her contributions to international understanding of veterinary medicine. Dr. Bernardo is chair in emerging technologies and bond-centered animal health care at the University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College, and has held professional positions at the United Nations, Michigan State University, and organizations in the Caribbean and Latin America.

President’s Award
As is customary during AVMA Convention, Dr. John de Jong, AVMA’s immediate past president, recognized several people for their support and service to the veterinary profession. Congratulations to this year’s well-deserving recipients of the President’s Award: Dr. Mark Lutschaunig, director of AVMA’s Government Relations Division, Dr. Joseph H. Kinnarney, chair of the AVMA Trust and AVMA past president, and Isham R. Jones III, AVMA general counsel.

The AVMA also presented previously-announced Excellence Awards for exemplary contributions in the areas of animal health and welfare to Dr. Karen Vernau, Dr. Joanne Paul-Murphey, and Sonia Hernandez. Excellence Awards for contributions to veterinary research were presented in July to Dr. Rodney Page, Dr. Noah D. Cohen, Dr. Jessica M. Quimby, an Dr. C. Wayne McIlwraith.

You can read more about awards recipients in the AVMA Convention Daily News.

Powered by you

The AVMA Excellence Awards are driven by members who nominate peers and colleagues for recognition. They’re a great opportunity to honor a mentor, colleague, or peer to have their accomplishments showcased to the entire profession. Nominations for 2020 awards will open in October, and we encourage you to nominate someone who has inspired you personally and made a difference in veterinary medicine. For more information, visit avma.org/Awards.