Programs that have applied for AVMA CVTEA accreditation

As of November 9, 2014

Listed below are programs that have applied for accreditation from the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA).

Application for accreditation does not ensure accreditation. Accreditation decisions are made by majority vote of the AVMA CVTEA during its biannual meetings.

Upon successful achievement of accreditation, the AVMA will notify program personnel, state licensing boards, and state veterinary medical associations of its decisions. Information is then posted as soon as possible on the AVMA Web site.

Accreditation is usually retroactively effective from the last date of the accreditation site visit. Students graduating after that accreditation effective date are considered graduates of an AVMA-accredited program in veterinary technology.

Veterinary technician credentialing eligibility is the responsibility of each autonomous state licensing board. Check with your state to determine its licensure requirements at


Austin Community College; TX
City College; Hollywood, FL
City College; Gainesville, FL
Faulkner State Community College; Bay Minette, AL
Heritage College; Jacksonville, FL
Heritage College; Little Rock, AR
Heritage College; Wichita, KS
Medaille College; Rochester, NY
Middlesex Community College; Middletown, CT
Owensboro Community and Technical College; Owensboro, KY
Sanford Brown Institute; Melville, NY
Sanford Brown Institute; Tampa, FL
Stanbridge College; Irvine, CA
Vatterott College; Fairview Heights, IL
York County Community College; Wells, ME