AVMA Meritorious Service Award

Nomination Form—Deadline: February 1, 2016​

The AVMA Meritorious Service Award recognizes an individual veterinarian who has brought public honor and distinction to the veterinary profession through personal, professional, or community service activities that are conducted outside the scope of organized veterinary medicine or research. The House Advisory Committee will review the applications and forward up to three candidates to the Executive Board for its consideration.

Nomination and Selection Procedures

AVMA members may nominate qualified veterinarians, who are members of the AVMA, for this award. To ensure that each nomination includes the necessary information, submit each using the official nomination form, being certain to complete all areas for requested information. In addition to a curriculum vitae with bibliography, please also provide in your cover letter a brief sketch of the nominee's professional background and a statement pertaining to the individual's qualifications for the award.

Nominations should be sent to the "AVMA Meritorious Service Award", AVMF, 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173 for receipt no later than the deadline date specified above. The House Advisory Committee will review the applications and forward three candidates to the AVMA Executive Board. It will review the nominations and select the recipient at its spring meeting. The AVMA will notify the awardee immediately thereafter, and the winner will be honored at that year's AVMA Annual Convention. An awardee may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org or call 847-285-6709.

2015 Dr. Stuart Nelson, ID
2014 Dr. Jeffrey Klausner, OR
2013 Dr. Cathy King, ND
2012 U.S. Army Veterinary Corp
2011 No award given
2010 No award given
2009 No award given
2008 Dr. Theordore B. Robinson, PA
2007 Dr. Catherine Lund, RI
2006 Senator Wayne Allard, DC
2005 Dr. Early Maxwell "Max" Sink, NC
2004 Dr. W. Ron DeHaven, DC
2003 Dr. John Melcher, DC
2002 Dr. Bernard R. Pinckney, WA