The AVMA Award

Nomination Form—Deadline: February 1, 2016​

Established in 1931, this award is designed to recognize distinguished members of the Association who have contributed to the advancement of veterinary medicine in its organizational aspects. Veterinarians who have exerted outstanding leadership in building stronger local, state, or regional associations, or who have contributed to the improvement of the national organization, are eligible.

Nomination and Selection Procedures

AVMA members may nominate qualified veterinarians, who are members of the AVMA, for this award. To ensure that each nomination includes the necessary information, submit each using the official nomination form being certain to complete all areas for requested information. In addition to a curriculum vitae with bibliography, please also provide in your cover letter a brief sketch of the nominee's professional background and a statement pertaining to the individual's qualifications for the award. Letters seconding, endorsing, or supporting nominations for awards will not be used in evaluating candidates.

Nominations should be sent to the "The AVMF Award", AVMF, 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173 for receipt no later than the deadline date specified above. The AVMA Executive Board will review the nominations and select the recipient at its spring meeting. The AVMA will notify the awardee immediately thereafter, and the winner will be honored at that year's AVMA Annual Convention. An awardee may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email or call 847-285-6709.

2015 Dr. James Thomas Vaughan, AL
2014 Dr. Henry Childers, RI
2013 Dr. James Brandt, FL
2012 Dr. James Peddie, CA
2011 Dr. John Albers, CO
2010 Dr. Leon H. Russell, TX
2009 Dr. James E. Nave, NV
2008 Dr. Peter F. Haynes, LA
2007 Dr. William J. McEniry, IL
2006 Dr. Allen Y. Miyahara, HI
2005 Dr. James A. Jarrett, GA
2004 Dr. Delano L. Proctor, Jr., KY
2003 Dr. Walter L. Martin, Jr., TN
2002 Dr. Marion T. Szatalowicz, WI
2001 Dr. R. L. Collinson, CA
2000 Dr. Owen R. Stevens, Jr., ME