AVMA Advocacy Award

Nomination Form - Deadline February 15, 2017
The AVMA Advocacy Award is given up to once a year to an individual in recognition of his/her contribution to advancing the AVMA's legislative agenda and advocating on behalf of the veterinary profession.


  • Nominees may be veterinarians or non-veterinarians
  • Veterinarians must be AVMA members
  • Nominations may be made by AVMA members, state VMAs, allied organizations, AVMA committees or councils, the AVMA House of Delegates, or AVMA Board of Directors
  • No self-nominations are accepted
  • Nominations must recognize efforts related to state or federal advocacy to advance the AVMA's legislative agenda and advocate on behalf of the veterinary profession

Supporting Material

  • Each nomination must include:
    • A completed nomination form
    • A copy of the candidate's resume/curriculum vitae or biography (not to exceed two pages)

Selection Process

  • The AVMA Board of Directors selects the recipient of the AVMA Advocacy Award
  • At the discretion of the AVMA Board of Directors, an award may not be presented every year

Nominations should be sent to AVMA Excellence in Veterinary Medicine Awards, AVMA Advocacy Award, AVMA, 1931 N. Meacham Rd, Suite 100,  Schaumburg, IL 60173, or to avma-awards@avma.org for receipt no later than February 15, 2017.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org.​

2016 U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran 
2015 Dr. George Bishop
2014 U.S. Sen. Jerry Moran
2013 U.S. Rep. Kurt Schrader
2012 U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow
2011 U.S. Sen. Tim Johnson
2010 U.S. Rep. Jack Kingston
2009 U.S. Sen. Sam Brownback
2008 U.S. Rep. Charles "Chip" Pickering