AVMA XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize

Nomination Form—Deadline: February 1, 2016​

In 1934, funds raised for the entertainment of delegates to the XIIth International Veterinary Congress held in New York that year resulted in an unexpended balance. The U.S. Committee on Finance of that Congress met in 1936 to support an award to be known as the AVMA XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize that recognizes outstanding service by a member of the Association who has contributed to international understanding of veterinary medicine. 

Nominations and Selection Procedures

AVMA members may nominate qualified veterinarians, who are members of the AVMA, for this award. To ensure that all necessary information is included, please use the official Excellence in Veterinary Medicine Awards nomination form. Be sure to complete all areas requesting information on the nomination form. In addition to the completed nomination form, the nominator must also provide:

  • a cover letter that includes a brief sketch of the nominee's background and a statement pertaining to the nominee's qualifications for the award; and
  • the nominee's curriculum vitae with bibliography

Please note that letters seconding, endorsing or supporting nominations for this award will not be used in evaluating nominees.

Nominations should be sent to the "AVMA XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize", c/o the American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF), 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173 for receipt no later than the deadline date specified above. The AVMA Committee on International Veterinary Affairs (CIVA) will review nominations and select the recipient at its spring meeting. The AVMF will notify both the nominator and the awardee immediately thereafter, and the winner will be honored at that year's AVMA Annual Convention. An awardee may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org or call 847-285-6709.

2015 Dr. Terry Wollen, CT
2014 Dr. Linda Logan, TX
2013 Dr. Corrie Brown, GA
2012 Dr. Cleon Kimberling, CO
2011 Dr. Paula Cowen, CO
2010 Dr. Gary Vroegindewey, VA
2009 Dr. Karen M. Becker, MD
2008 Dr. Colin F. Burrows, FL
2007 Dr. M.D. (Mo) Salman, CO
2006 Dr. David M. Sherman, MA
2005 Dr. Joe Kornegay, MO
2004 Dr. Bernard C. Easterday, WI
2003 Dr. Albrecht K. Eugster, TX
2002 Dr. Charles M. Barnes, TX
2001 Dr. James A. Roth, IA
2000 Dr. Leon H. Russell, TX