AVMF/Winn Feline Foundation Research Award

Nomination FormDeadline: February 1, 2017​

Established in 2009 by the Winn Feline Foundation and American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF), this award honors a candidate's contribution to advancing feline health through their research. The recipient will also present at a seminar to be selected by the Winn Feline Foundation. The honoree will receive $2,500 and a crystal award, which will be presented at the Merial NIH National Veterinary Scholars Symposium.

Nomination and Selection Procedures

To be considered, nominees must have demonstrated Winn's mission to advance feline health and welfare through research; have a pattern of following good research study protocols; complete progress reports in a timely manner; and have their research published and acknowledge Winn as a donor of grants when appropriate.

No self-nominations will be considered. Nominations are to include a cover letter from the nominator, a list of significant research achievements, and a concise curriculum vitae (CV) including relevant publications. The nominee does not have to be a veterinarian but should have a strong background in feline research that was beneficial to cats and has been published.  The cover letter from the nominator must include the name of the award; the name, mailing address, telephone number(s), E-mail address, and college and year of graduation of the nominee; the nature of the nominee's professional activity (type of practice or type of salaried work); organizational memberships (professional and scientific) of the nominee; a 300- to 320-word narrative sketch of the nominee's professional background; and a statement pertaining to the nominee's qualifications for the award.

Nominations should be mailed to the "AVMF/Winn Feline Foundation Research Award", AVMF, 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173 for receipt no later than the deadline date specified above. The AVMA Council on Research will review nominations and select the honoree at its spring meeting. The AVMF and Winn Feline Foundation will notify honorees immediately thereafter, and award winners will be honored at the Merial NIH National Veterinary Scholars Symposium. An honoree may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org or call 847-285-6709.

2016 Dr. Andrea Fascetti, CA
2015 Dr. Urs Giger, PA
2014 Dr. Timothy Gruffydd-Jones, United Kingdom
2013 Dr. William Murphy, TX
2012 Dr. Niels Pedersen, CA
2011 Dr. Jody Gookin, Raleigh, NC
2010 Dr. Leslie A. Lyons, Davis, CA
2009 Dr. Mike Lappin