JAVMA Staff   AVMA Officers Business Information
Dr. Kurt J. Matushek,
Dr. Craig A. Smith,
Associate Editor
Dr. Helen L. Simons,
Associate Editor
Dr. Gussie J. Tessier,
Associate Editor
Dr. Alexandra L. Winter,
Assistant Editor
Dr. Rosemarie Seymour,
Assistant Editor

Dr. Roxanne Pillars,
Assistant Editor

Dr. Sandra L. Lefebvre,  Assistant Editor

Dr. Kristi Henderson, Assistant Editor

Dr. Bruce G. McLaughlin,
Adjunct Editor

Susan C. Kahler,
Senior News Editor
R. Scott Nolen,
Senior News Reporter
Katie Burns,
Senior News Reporter
Malinda Larkin,
Senior News Reporter
Greg Cima,
Senior News Reporter
Anita Suresh,
News Assistant Reporter
Administrative Staff
Merri B. Benney,
Senior Assistant to the
Carol J. Obodzinski,
JAVMA Administrative Asst.
Nicholas T. De Luca,
Managing Editor
Justin D. DeAre,
Publications Technology Specialist

Julie L. McLearen,
Senior Production Coordinator
Victor Schultz,
Senior Copy Editor
Tram T. Le,
Copy Editor

Lindy J. Paczak,
Copy Editor

Michelle A. Krieger,             Copy Editor

Jennifer S. Brady,
Online Editorial Assistant

Christina M. Banks, 
Display Advertising Associate

Mark A. Williamson,

Advertising and Subscription

Fulfillment Associate

Diane A. Fagen,
Graphic Design

Cheryl A. Atkins,
Assistant Director,  CreativeServices

Justin D. Murray,
Graphic Designer

Gina Urso,
Graphic Designer

Michele L. Morin,
Production Designer



Dr. Michael J. Topper,
Dr. John H. de Jong,
Dr. Stacy L. Pritt,
Vice President
Dr. Arnold L. Goldman,
Dr. Thomas F. Meyer,
Immediate Past President
Dr. Michael L. Whitehair,
Chair, Board of Directors
Dr. Gary S. Brown,
Vice Chair, Board of Directors
Dr. Janet D. Donlin,
Executive Vice President
Dr. David E. Granstrom,
Assistant Executive Vice President
AVMA District Directors  
Dr. Karen M. Bradley,
District I
Dr. Michael Q. Bailey,
District II
Dr. Jan K. Strother,
District III
Dr. José V. Arce,
District IV
Dr. Gary S. Brown,
District V
Dr. Ronald E. Gill,
District VI
Dr. John A. Howe,
District VII
Dr. Lori M. Teller,
District VIII
Dr. Michael L. Whitehair,
District IX
Dr. George W. Bishop,
District X
Dr. Rena Carlson-Lammers,
District XI
Editorial Office
1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070, ext 6752
Fax: 847-925-9329
E-mail: JAVMA@avma.org
Website: www.avma.org/journals

Follow us on:

The Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (ISSN 0003-1488) is published semimonthly at 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360. Periodicals postage paid at Schaumburg, Ill, and at additional mailing offices.

Opinions and statements expressed in the JAVMA reflect the views of the contributors and do not represent the official policy of the American Veterinary Medical Association, unless so stated. Placement of an advertisement does not represent the AVMA's endorsement of the product or service.
Subscription price for nonmembers in the United States and possessions, $280 per year; for nonmembers in foreign countries, $290 per year. Single copies are $40 (United States and possessions) and $45 (foreign countries). For subscriptions and customer service, contact the JAVMA by mail (AVMA  Publications Division, 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360), phone (800-248-2862, ext 6639/6640), or e-mail (subscriptions@avma.org). For AVMA members, address changes can be made online at www.avma.org, by clicking on Member Center. Postmaster: send address changes to JAVMA Address Changes, 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360.
Material printed in the JAVMA is covered by copyright. All rights reserved. No portion may be republished, reproduced (including photocopying), displayed, or transmitted without prior written permission from the publisher. Address permission requests to Diane A. Fagen, Permissions Coordinator (phone, 847-925-8070, ext 6770; fax, 847-925-9329; e-mail, dfagen@avma.org).

For author inquiries, contact Cindy Eyler at The Sheridan Press (phone, 800-352-2210, ext 8008; fax, 717-633-8929; e-mail, cindy.eyler@sheridan.com). For commercial inquiries, contact Beth Ann Rocheleau at Rockwater Inc (phone, 803-359-4578; fax, 803-753-9430; e-mail, brocheleau@rockwaterinc.com).

Display Advertising 
For information on display advertising, contact Mark E. Reynolds at Media Communications Inc (phone, 913-541-9995; e-mail, mreynolds@avma.org).

Classified Advertising
For information on classified advertising, contact our Classified Ad Department (phone, 800-248-2862, ext 6639 or 6640; fax, 847-925-9329; e-mail, classad@avma.org).

AVMA Information  
  The Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association is owned and published by the American Veterinary Medical Association.
  AVMA Offices
  1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070 or 800-248-2862
Fax: 847-925-1329

1910 Sunderland Place, NW
Washington, DC 20036-1642
Phone: 202-789-0007 or 800-321-1473
Fax: 202-842-4360
  AVMA Partners

1931 N. Meacham Rd.
Suite 106
Schaumburg, IL 60173

PO Box 1629
Chicago, IL 60690-1629
Phone: 800-228-7548

American Veterinary
Medical Foundation
1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 800-248-2862, ext 6690