AJVR Staff

American Journal of Veterinary Research
AJVR Staff  
Dr. Kurt J. Matushek,
Dr. Craig A. Smith,
Associate Editor
Dr. Helen L. Simons,
Associate Editor
Dr. Gussie J. Tessier,
Associate Editor
Dr. Sandra L. Lefebvre,
Associate Editor
Dr. Rosemarie Seymour,
Assistant Editor

Dr. Roxanne Pillars,
Assistant Editor

Dr. Kristi Henderson,    Assistant Editor

Dr. Bruce G. McLaughlin,
Adjunct Editor

Administrative Staff
Merri B. Benney,
Senior Assistant
to the Editor-in-Chief

Margaret M. Cafarella,
AJVR Administrative Asst.


Susan C. Kahler,
Senior News Editor
R. Scott Nolen,
Senior News Reporter
Katie Burns,
Senior News Reporter
Malinda Larkin,
Senior News Reporter
Greg Cima,
Senior News Reporter
Anita Suresh,
News Assistant Reporter

Graphic Design
Cheryl A. Atkins,
Assistant Director,
Creative Services
Justin D. Murray,
Graphic Designer
Michele Morin,
Production Designer

Diane A. Fagen,
Nicholas T. De Luca,
Managing Editor
Justin D. DeAre,
Publications Technology Specialist
William A. Mazur,
Production Coordinator I

Victor Schultz, 
Senior Copy Editor

Tram T. Le,​
Copy Editor​

Lindy J. Paczak,
Copy Editor

Michelle A. Krieger,         Copy Editor

Rebecca Harris,
Online Editorial Assistant

Christina M. Banks,
Display Advertising Associate

Mark A. Williamson, Advertising and Subscription Fulfillment Associate

Rita E. Donnelly,
Advertising and Subscription
Fulfillment Associate

AVMA Officers Business Information
Dr. Michael J. Topper,
Dr. John H. de Jong,
Dr. Stacy L. Pritt,
Vice President
Dr. Arnold L. Goldman,
Dr. Thomas F. Meyer,
Immediate Past President
Dr. Michael L. Whitehair,
Chair, Board of Directors
Dr. Gary S. Brown,
Vice Chair, Board of Directors 
Dr. Janet D. Donlin,
Executive Vice President
Dr. David E. Granstrom,
Assistant Executive Vice President
Editorial Office
1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070, ext 6752
Fax: 847-925-9329
E-mail: AJVR@avma.org
Website: www.avma.org/journals

Follow us on:

The American Journal of Veterinary Research (ISSN 0002-9645) is published monthly at 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360. Periodicals postage paid at Schaumburg, Ill, and at additional mailing offices.

Opinions and statements expressed in the AJVR reflect the views of the contributors and do not represent the official policy of the American Veterinary Medical Association, unless so stated. Placement of an advertisement does not represent the AVMA's endorsement of the product or service.

Subscription price for nonmembers in the United States and possessions, $280 per year; for nonmembers in foreign countries, $290 per year. Single copies are $40 (United States and possessions) and $45 (foreign countries). For subscriptions and customer service, contact the AJVR by mail (AVMA Publications Division, 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360), phone (800-248-2862, ext 6639/6640), or e-mail (subscriptions@avma.org). For AVMA members, address changes can be made online at www.avma.org, by clicking on Member Center. Postmaster: send address changes to AJVR Address Changes, 1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360.

Material printed in the AJVR is covered by copyright. All rights reserved. No portion may be republished, reproduced (including photocopying), displayed, or transmitted without prior written permission from the publisher. Address permission requests to Diane A. Fagen, Permissions Coordinator (phone, 847-925-8070, ext 6770; fax, 847-925-9329; e-mail, dfagen@avma.org).

For author inquiries, contact Cindy Eyler at The Sheridan Press (phone, 800-352-2210, ext 8008; fax, 717-633-8929; e-mail, cindy.eyler@sheridan.com). For commercial inquiries, contact Beth Ann Rocheleau at Rockwater Inc (phone, 803-359-4578; fax, 803-753-9430; e-mail, brocheleau@ rockwaterinc.com).

Display Advertising  
For information on display advertising, contact Mark E. Reynolds at Media Communications Inc (phone, 913-541-9995; e-mail, mreynolds@avma.org).

AVMA District Directors
Dr. Karen M. Bradley,
District I
Dr. Michael Q. Bailey,
District II
Dr. Jan K. Strother,
District III
Dr. José V. Arce,
District IV
Dr. Gary S. Brown,
District V
Dr. Ronald E. Gill,
District VI
Dr. John A. Howe,
District VII
Dr. Lori M. Teller,
District VIII
Dr. Michael L. Whitehair,
District IX
Dr. George W. Bishop,
District X
Dr. Rena Carlson-Lammers,
District XI
AVMA Information
The American Journal of Veterinary Research is owned and published by the American Veterinary Medical Association.

AVMA Offices

1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070 or
Fax: 847-925-1329

1910 Sunderland Place, NW
Washington, DC 20036-1642
Phone: 202-789-0007 or
Fax: 202-842-4360

AVMA Partners

1931 N. Meacham Rd.
Suite 106
Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone 800-621-6360

PO Box 1629
Chicago, IL 60690-
Phone: 800-228-7548

American Veterinary Medical Foundation
1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 800-248-2862, ext 6690