October 15, 2000


 US veterinarians prominent in international hygiene society

Posted Oct. 1, 2000

At its 10th congress, July 1-6 in Maastricht, the Netherlands, the International Society for Animal Hygiene conferred its highest award on Dr. Stanley L. Diesch, professor emeritus at the College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Diesch was the first veterinarian outside Europe to receive the society's Honorary Award. He became the 10th recipient since the society was created in Europe in 1970 to promote the exchange of research on environmental problems of livestock production, and to enhance health and welfare.

Forty-two of the 50 member countries were represented at the event.

Dr. Diesch served as president of the society from 1991-1994. Under his chairmanship, the 8th congress was held in 1994 in St Paul, Minn, the first outside Europe. Previously he had served as US representative and member of the executive board.

In receiving the award, Dr. Diesch was cited for his 27 years of active membership and contributions to the society toward creating a global organization that expanded into the United States, Canada, Mexico, Latin America, and China.

The society elected to its executive board Dr. Thomas G. Blaha, professor and occupant of the Endowed Leman Chair in Swine Medicine at the College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Minnesota.

Previously Dr. Blaha served on the extended executive board as US representative. Dr. Don A. Franco, Lake Worth, Fla, director of scientific services for the National Renderers Association, succeeds Dr. Blaha in those positions.