August 01, 2001


 ARS scientists win top honors

Posted July 15, 2001

On June 4, Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman presented the annual Secretary's Honor Award in the capital, and among the recipients were three USDA Agricultural Research Service scientists.

Among the ARS honorees, animal physiologist Mohammad Koohmaraie of the US Roman L. Hruska Meat Animal Research Center, Clay Center, Neb, was honored in the category of "promoting health by providing access to safe, affordable, and nutritious food." Koohmaraie's team not only developed the first rapid tests for detecting pathogens on beef, pork, and poultry carcasses but also provided techniques to greatly reduce or eliminate Escherichia coli O157:H7 in red meat.

For "heroism and emergency response," ARS area director S. Karl Narang, South Atlantic Area, Athens, Ga, and Dr. David E. Swayne, Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory, Athens, Ga, were honored for their working on a team that developed a strategy for surveillance, diagnosis, and prevention of West Nile virus.