March 01, 2001


 New York State VMS

Posted Feb. 15, 2001
Dr. Douglas G. Aspros
Dr. Douglas G. Aspros

Event: NY2K Veterinary Conference, Nov 2-5, 2000, Kerhonkson
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Douglas G. Aspros, White Plains. Beyond serving as president of the NYSVMS in 1997, chairman of the Management Relations Committee, and president of the Westchester County Board of Health since 1995, Dr. Aspros also initiated a leadership development program called Leaders 2000, which brought 31 young members to participate in organized veterinary medicine. He is a member of the AVMA Council on Education. Distinguished Life Service Award: Dr. Robert F. Case, Schenectady; Dr. Stanley E. Garrison, Burnt Hills; Dr. Richard C. Grambow, Skaneateles; and Dr. William E. Zitek, Shelter Island Heights. Dr. Case spent seven years as chairman of the NYSVMS Government Relations Committee and recently chaired the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee. Dr. Garrison served as NYSVMS president, as chairman of the Management Relations Committee, and as a member of the Centennial Committee in 1990. Dr. Grambow was NYSVMS president, initiated the Northeastern VMA meeting, chaired the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service, and was president of the North American Veterinary Conference. Dr. Zitek was NYSVMS president, was co-chairman of the NYSVMS Government Relations Committee, and served on the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service. Dr. Steve Kritsick Memorial Award: Alameda East Veterinary Hospital in Denver, site of the TV show "Emergency Vets" on Animal Planet. Staff veterinarian Dr. Kevin Fitzgerald accepted the award. Members of NYSVMS, Dr. Doreen John and Dr. Gregory John were also recognized for their weekly column "Petcetera" in the Finger Lakes Times. Merit Award: Dr. Anthony M. Miele, owner or co-owner of nine veterinary practices, chairs the NYSVMS Public Relations Committee and serves as a mentor for Leaders 2000.
Officers: Dr. Francis Kallfelz, Ithaca, president; Dr. Walter McCarthy, Grand Island, president-elect; and Dr. Burton Saunders, Monsey, reelected treasurer