June 01, 2018


 Indiana VMA

Posted May 9, 2018

Event: 134th annual meeting, March 1-4, Indianapolis
Program: The meeting drew more than 310 veterinarians and 175 veterinary technicians and assistants. On offer were accreditation modules, a wellness track, and more than 190 hours of continuing education.
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Robert N. Jackman, Milroy, for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, organized veterinary medicine, and community. A 1967 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Jackman practices at Jackman Animal Clinic in Milroy. He also operates a contract finishing hog unit for Corya Pork Farms. Dr. Jackman served 12 years in the Indiana State Senate, representing District 42. President's Award: Dr. Lindsey Hedges, Lebanon, for exceptional contributions to the association. A 2011 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hedges owns Pleasant Paws Veterinary Care in Lebanon. She served as the emerging leader from Indiana at the AVMA Veterinary Leadership Conference in 2013 and has been program facilitator for the association's Power of 10 Leadership Program since 2015. Volunteer of the Year: Dr. James Stepusin, Indianapolis, for leadership or service to a project or program of the association. A 2002 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Stepusin is the Midwest regional director of field veterinary services with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. He is a past president of the Indiana VMA, serves as chair of the association's Annual Meeting Committee, and is a member of its Legislative Committee. Achievement Award: Dr. Lisa Hepworth, West Lafayette, won this award, given to an IVMA member who has graduated within the preceding five years and has made outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, civic activities, academia, or organized veterinary medicine. A 2012 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hepworth practices at Paw Prints Animal Hospital in Lafayette. She serves on the IVMA Continuing Education Committee and Annual Meeting Task Force.
Officials: Dr. Nathan Rich, New Castle, president; Dr. Matt Cantrell, Zionsville, president-elect; Dr. Aaron Smiley, Anderson, vice president; Dr. Kyle Shipman, Indianapolis, treasurer; Dr. Maria Cooper, Indianapolis, immediate past president; and Lisa A. Perius, Indianapolis, executive director