December 15, 2017


 Colorado VMA

Posted Nov. 29, 2017

Dr. Randa MacMillan ​Robert D. Rohde ​Ralph Johnson


Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 21-24, Loveland
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Randa MacMillan, Littleton. A 1981 graduate of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. MacMillan owned Arapahoe Veterinary Hospital in Littleton until 2008. She is a past president of the Colorado VMA and Denver Area VMS, and, in 2013, co-chaired a dog protection task force that was established to assist police officers better understand dog behavior. Dr. MacMillan is active with Vidas, an international veterinary group that holds spay-neuter clinics in Yucatan, Mexico. Distinguished Service Award: Robert D. Rohde, Centennial. A certified animal welfare administrator, Rohde is chief executive officer of Dumb Friends League. Under his leadership, the league has grown from its origins as a small local animal shelter to a large community-based animal welfare organization. Rohde collaborates and partners with local and national organizations, working toward animal welfare. President's Award: The staff members of the CVMA won this award, in recognition of their courteous, professional, and heartfelt dedication to CVMA members and leadership, and for their unwavering service to and support of the veterinary profession in Colorado. Also honored at the meeting was the chief executive officer of the CVMA, Ralph Johnson, of Denver, for his service to the association. Johnson has led the association since 2000, first as executive director, and, later, as CEO. He will retire at the end of 2017.
Officials: Dr. William French, Sedalia, president; Dr. Joy Furhman, Fort Collins, president-elect; Dr. Stacee Santi, Durango, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Jackie Christakos, Centennial, secretary-treasurer–elect; Dr. Sam Romano, Arvada, immediate past president; Ralph Johnson, Denver, chief executive officer; Diane C. Matt, Denver, chief executive officer–designate; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Melanie Marsden, Colorado Springs, and Rebecca Ruch-Gallie, LaPorte