November 15, 2017


 South Dakota VMA

Posted Nov. 1, 2017

Dr. William Headlee Dr. Norma Headlee Dr. Carpenter Dr. Knock
Dr. William Headlee Dr. Norma Headlee ​Dr. Larry Carpenter Dr. Eric Knock

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 13-16, Sioux Falls
Awards: Veterinarians of the Year: Drs. William and Norma Headlee, Kadoka. The Drs. Headlee earned their veterinary degrees from Iowa State University in 1978. They own a mixed animal practice in Kadoka. During their almost 40-year careers, Drs. Headlee have mentored several veterinarians, and veterinary and veterinary technology students. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Larry Carpenter, Sturgis, won this award, given in honor of an individual who has brought distinction to the veterinary profession through professional and personal achievements and by serving as an inspiration to veterinarians and their clients. A 1982 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Carpenter owned Veterinary Surgical Service, a small animal practice in Sturgis, from 2003-15. Prior to that, he served in the Army, retiring as director of the military working dog hospital in San Antonio with the rank of colonel. During a deployment in Haiti in 1995, Dr. Carpenter participated in a vaccination drive against rabies in coordination with the Haitian Ministry of Health, United Nations mission to Haiti, Pan American Health Organization, and Christian Veterinary Mission. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons. Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Eric Knock, Miller, won this award, given to a member who has graduated in the preceding 10 years and has a record of outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, private practice, regulatory services, civic activities, or organized veterinary medicine. A 2007 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Knock co-owns Prairie View Veterinary Clinic in Miller. He has developed several bovine services, including the use of ultrasonography for evaluation of carcass traits, pregnancy staging, and embryo flushing and transfer. A past member of the SDVMA Continuing Education Committee, Dr. Knock serves as a mentor to recent veterinary graduates and veterinary students.
Officials: Drs. Michelle Jensen, Harrisburg, president; Mark Braunschmidt, Brandon, president-elect; Ethan Andress, Hettinger, vice president; Chanda Nilsson, Groton, secretary-treasurer; Travis White, Sioux Center, immediate past president; Chris Chase, Brookings, AVMA delegate; Cindy Franklin, Yankton, AVMA alternate delegate; Angela Anderson, Sioux Falls, District 1 representative; Heidi Sorenson, Watertown, District 2 representative; and Sandra Wahlert, Hot Springs, District 3 representative