August 15, 2017


 Board makes appointments

Posted July 26, 2017

The AVMA Board of Directors, during its June 20-21 meeting in Washington, D.C., named the following individuals to the entities indicated, representing the designated areas. The duration of each term varies.

Animal Welfare Committee

Humane or animal welfare organizations—Dr. Brenda Forsythe, Santa Maria, California


Trustee—Dr. Theodore Cohn, Lone Tree, Colorado

Committee on Disaster and Emergency Issues

Small animal practice—Dr. Shari O'Neill, San Francisco

Council on Education Selection Committee

Former COE member—Dr. Shannon McGee, Collierville, Tennessee

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates

Public health or food security—Dr. Mary Grace Stobierski, East Lansing, Michigan

Food Safety Advisory Committee

American Association of Extension Veterinarians, alternate—Dr. Patty Scharko, Columbia, South Carolina

Governance Performance Review Committee

House of Delegates—Dr. Erin Casey, Washington, D.C.

State Advocacy Committee

Area 1 (Eastern states)—Dr. Albert Andersen, Medfield, Massachusetts; Board of Directors—Dr. Lori Teller, Houston; House of Delegates—Dr. David Blount, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Steering Committee on Human-Animal Interactions

Veterinarian or scientist with expertise in nondomestic human-animal relationships (wildlife, zoos, aquaria)—Dr. Lesanna Lahner, Snohomish, Washington