June 01, 2017


 Board makes appointments

​Posted May 10, 2017

The AVMA Board of Directors, meeting April 7 at Association headquarters in Schaumburg, Illinois, named the following individuals to the entities indicated, representing the designated areas. The duration of each term varies.

Animal Welfare Committee

American Animal Hospital Association, alternate—Dr. Jodi Wiktorowski, Creswell, Oregon; American Association of Feline Practitioners, alternate—Dr. Nancy Suska, Alexandria, Virginia; American Association of Industry Veterinarians—Dr. Whitney Miller, Boerne, Texas; American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners—Dr. Leanne Alworth, Athens, Georgia; and ASLAP, alternate—Dr. Philippe Baneux, Ithaca, New York

Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee

Private or public practice, food animal production—Dr. Jessica Koppien-Fox, Marshall, Minnesota; private clinical practice, companion aquatic animal—Dr. Jessie Sanders, Santa Cruz, California; and public health or epidemiology—Dr. Karen Alroy, Atlanta


Trustees—Dr. David Koncal, Sagamore Hills, Ohio, and Dr. Renee Schmid, Scribner, Nebraska


Trustee—Dr. Kent McClure, Washington, D.C.

Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee

American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Martha DeWees, Springfield, Oregon; AAHA, alternate—Dr. Laura Niman, Eugene, Oregon; American Association of Avian Pathologists—Dr. Hector Cervantes, Watkinsville, Georgia; American Association of Bovine Practitioners—Dr. Sarah Giebel, Canyon, Texas; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners, alternate—Dr. Kimberly Brinton, Bethany, Connecticut; and zoo and wildlife medicine—Dr. Donald Stremme, Cape May Beach, New Jersey

Committee on Antimicrobials

American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Erin Frey, Raleigh, North Carolina; AAHA, alternate—Dr. Lindsey Wright, Salt Lake City; American Association of Equine Practitioners—Dr. Mark Papich, Raleigh, North Carolina; AAEP, alternate—Dr. Lauren Schnabel, Raleigh, North Carolina; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners—Dr. Virginia Fajt, College Station, Texas; and AASRP, alternate—Dr. Paul Plummer, Ames, Iowa  

Committee on Disaster and Emergency Issues

Equine medicine—Dr. Karie Vander Werf, Palm City, Florida; and Veterinary Medical Assistance Teams—Dr. Patrice Klein, Washington Grove, Maryland

Committee on Environmental Issues

Avian medicine—Dr. Marcy Souza, Knoxville, Tennessee; bovine practice—Dr. Michael Capel, Geneseo, New York; and veterinary toxicology—Dr. Karyn Bischoff, Ithaca, New York

Committee on International Veterinary Affairs

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Lee Willingham, Basseterre, St. Kitts; and recent graduates or emerging leaders—Dr. Shannon Mesenhowski, Seattle

Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities

Faculties of colleges of veterinary medicine—Dr. Elizabeth Thompson, Harrogate, Tennessee; and veterinary technicians—Mary Berg, Lawrence, Kansas; Kelly Foltz, Notasulga, Alabama; and Sandra Foster, Homewood, Alabama

Convention Education Program Committee

Chair-elect—Dr. Mark Alley, Cary, North Carolina

Council on Education Selection Committee

At-large—Dr. Douglas Aspros, Pound Ridge, New York

Early Career Development Committee

Emerging leader—Dr. Jeremy Keen, Collierville, Tennessee; recent graduates—Dr. Kristina Baltutis, Burlington, North
Carolina; and Dr. Emily Tincher, Shelbyville, Kentucky

Food Safety Advisory Committee

American Association of Food Safety and Public Health Veterinarians—Dr. Candace Jacobs, Olympia, Washington;
AAFSPHV, alternate—Dr. Nicole Chevalier, Marina del Ray, California; and American Association of Small Ruminant
Practitioners, alternate—Dr. Signe Balch, Larkspur, Colorado

Governance Performance Review Committee

At-large—Dr. Saundra Willis, Tacoma, Washington; and AVMA committees—Dr. Will McCauley, Dallas

Political Action Committee Board

At-large—Dr. Bernadine Cruz, Laguna Niguel, California, and Dr. Eva Evans, Old Hickory, Tennessee; and Area 1 (Eastern states) representative—Dr. Rebecca Stinson, Reidsville, North Carolina

State Advocacy Committee

At-large—Dr. Dan Segna, Santa Barbara, California

Steering Committee on Human-Animal Interactions

Veterinarian or scientist with expertise in domestic animal relationships—Dr. Zenithson Ng, Knoxville, Tennessee

Veterinary Economics Strategy Committee

At-large—Camala Bailey, Tempe, Arizona; Dawn Burdette, Taylorsville, Kentucky; and Dr. David Gerber, Coeur d’Alene,

Legislative Advisory Committee

American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Peter Hellyer, Fort Collins, Colorado; AAHA, alternate—Dr. William Fredregill, Sterling, Colorado; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners—Dr. Kelly Still Brooks, Stanhope, Iowa; AASRP, alternate—Dr. Margaret Masterson, Plain City, Ohio; House of Delegates—Dr. Gary Cowan, Wichita, Kansas; and HOD, alternate—Dr. James Weber, Alexandria, Kentucky

AVMA liaisons

Alliance of Marine Mammal Parks and Aquariums—Dr. Esteban Soto, Davis, California; American Association for
Laboratory Animal Science—Dr. Kristin Evans, Woodland, California; Codex Alimentarius Commission Committee on Food Hygiene—Dr. Gilbert Patterson, Johnson City, Tennessee; Committee on Psittacosis Control Compendium—Dr. Karen Ehnert, Los Angeles; National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Committee to Develop a Compendium of Measures to Control Disease and Injury from Contacts with Animals in Public Settings—Dr. Eileen Wolfe, Brownington, Vermont; North American councilor to World Veterinary Association—Dr. Cassandra Tansey, Tucker, Georgia; One Health Commission Council of Advisors—Dr. Mark Starr, Rocklin, California; Pan American Association of Veterinary Sciences Directive Council—Dr. Karen Jacobsen, Athens, Georgia; and Working Group on Aquaculture Drugs, Chemicals, and Biologics—Dr. Katherine Haman, Kalama, Washington