May 15, 2017


 Indiana VMA

​Posted April 26, 2017

Event: 133rd annual meeting, March 2-5, Indianapolis
Program: The meeting drew more than 360 veterinarians and 198 veterinary technicians and assistants. On offer were accreditation modules, a behavior forum for the public, and in excess of 190 hours of continuing education.
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Lori Thompson, Indianapolis, for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, organized veterinary medicine, and community. A 2000 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Dermatology, Dr. Thompson owns Animal Allergy & Dermatology Center of Indiana in Indianapolis. She previously worked as a veterinary technical consultant for Elanco Animal Health, helping establish its Companion Animal Health Division, and owned and served as managing partner of Animal Dermatology Clinic in Indianapolis. Dr. Thompson serves as a consultant for the Veterinary Information Network and Antech Diagnostics. A past president of the Indiana VMA and a past chair of the AVMA Task Force on Veterinary Compounding Legislation, she serves on the IVMA Audit/Budget and Legislative committees and is a member of the American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology. President’s Award: Lisa A. Perius, Indianapolis. Perius, executive director of the Indiana VMA since 1996, is the first nonveterinarian to receive this award, given in honor of exceptional contributions to the association while in office. She was recognized for cumulative service and commitment to the IVMA and organized veterinary medicine. During Perius’ tenure, the association has grown into a dynamic and active organization with increased volunteer involvement. Volunteer of the Year Award: Dr. Kristy Graham, Carmel, for leadership or service in a project or program of the association. A 1995 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Dr. Graham works as a consultant for Idexx Laboratories. She is co-chair of the IVMA Continuing Education Committee and a member of the IVMA Annual Meeting Committee. Dr. Graham has coordinated speakers and topics for the annual meeting for the past 11 years. Achievement Award: Dr. Kyle Shipman, Indianapolis, won this award, given to an IVMA member who has graduated within the preceding five years and has displayed outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, civic activities, academia, or organized veterinary medicine. A 2015 graduate of Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Shipman is director of avian health and field operations for the Indiana Board of Animal Health. He co-chairs the IVMA Membership Committee; serves on the IVMA board of directors, representing public health; and is a past member of the IVMA Governance Task Force.
Officials: Dr. Maria Cooper, Nobles­ville, president; Dr. Nathan Rich, New Castle, president-elect; Dr. Matt Cantrell, Zionsville, vice president; Dr. Aaron Smiley, Anderson, treasurer; Dr. James Stepusin, Indianapolis, immediate past president; and Lisa K. Perius, executive director