December 15, 2016


 New York State VMS

Posted Nov. 30, 2016

​Dr. James C. Zgoda ​Dr. Margret Thompson

9th annual fall veterinary conference, held jointly with the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Sept. 30-Oct. 2, Ithaca
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Awarded posthumously to Dr. James C. Zgoda (Cornell ’85; see JAVMA obituary, June 15, 2016). Dr. Zgoda owned Otterkill Animal Hospital in Campbell Hall. He served on the board of directors of the NYSVMS, chaired its licensed veterinary technicians committee, and was a past treasurer of the Hudson Valley VMS. Distinguished Life Service Award: Dr. Thomas Nytch (Cornell ’58), Owego. Dr. Nytch owned Vestal Veterinary Hospital in Vestal until 1986. He later served as a field veterinarian for the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets’ Division of Animal Industry and was a veterinary medical officer with the Department of Agriculture’s Food Safety and Inspection Service. Dr. Nytch is a past president of the Southern Tier VMA. Outstanding Service to Veterinary Medicine Award: Dr. Robert Reisman (Cornell ’80), New York. Dr. Reisman is supervisor of forensic sciences at the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals’ Animal Hospital. He has served on the executive board of the VMA of New York City and is a founding member of the International Veterinary Forensic Sciences Association. Merit Award: Dr. Allan Bregman (Ross ’02), Williston Park. Dr. Bregman co-owns Bregman Veterinary Group. He is a past president of the VMA of NYC, serves as treasurer of the NYSVMS, chairs the society’s budget and finance committee, and is a member of the management and government relations committees.
Officials (2017): Drs. Margret Thompson, Ithaca, president; Surinder Wadyal, East Norwich, president-elect; Allan Bregman, Williston Park, treasurer; Susan E. Wylegala, Buffalo, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Walter McCarthy, Grand Island, and Eric Bregman, Williston Park