October 15, 2016


 Society for Theriogenology

Posted Sept. 28, 2016

​Dr. Dickson Varner ​Dr. John Myers ​Dr. Peter Sheerin

Society for Theriogenology annual conference, July 27-30 in Asheville, North Carolina
Program: Plenary sessions, sponsored by the American College of Theriogenologists, featured “Genetics and Genomics: An Introduction” and “Genomics and Fertility: Where are we going and when will we get there?” by Joseph Dalton, PhD. An educator’s forum, sponsored by the Theriogenology Foundation, provided a session on “Clinical skills learning theory and how to provide effective feedback” by Dr. Julie Williamson and brief descriptions by those willing to share their use of models in the curriculum as well as a display of reproductive models with instructions for use. Forty-eight scientific abstracts, 12 poster presentations, and six veterinary student case presentations were provided during various sessions at the conference.
Awards: David Bartlett Honorary Address: Dr. Dickson Varner, College Station, Texas, presented the address. Dr. Varner was recognized as a leader in stallion reproduction. His primary research interests are in the areas of semen preservation, testicular function, and subfertility in stallions. He has developed several clinical applications for examining and preserving spermatozoa. Dr. Varner played a critical role in starting the stallion reproductive studies program at the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, helping position the veterinary college as one of the top research and clinical facilities for stallion reproduction in the world. Dr. John Steiner Award for Excellence in Practice: Dr. John Myers, Vinita, Oklahoma. Dr. Myers has specialized in bovine reproduction and has lectured on that subject (especially bull fertility) for several years. He also was author for two chapters in “Bovine Reproduction.” Dr. Jerry Rains Memorial Abstract Competition, sponsored by Merck Animal Health: Dr. Jamie Stewart, Tolono, Illinois, for “Evaluation of post-thaw semen parameters for different extenders in white-tailed deer,” first place ($1,000); Melissa Ann Roberts, San Luis Obispo, California, “Evaluation of lipid content, mitochondrial polarity, and cryotolerance of Holstein in vitro–produced embryos following culture with vitamin K2, forskolin, and conditioned medium,” second place ($750); Kristy Meadows, North Grafton, Massachusetts, “A rodent model for non-surgical sterilization using an antibody-guided lipid nanoparticle cytotoxin delivery system,” third place ($500); and Dr. Viviane C. L. Gomes, Athens, Georgia, “The significance of eosinophils in equine uterine cytology: a retrospective study,” fourth place ($250). Veterinary Student Case Presentation Competition: Kaitlyn McCombs, Auburn University, for “Successful medical management of pregnancy toxemia in a 2-year old Katahdin ewe,” first place ($650); Christine Garrett, Auburn University, “Unilateral ovariohysterectomy in a 3-year old German Shepherd Dog,” second place ($525); Rachel Shutter, Washington State University, “Poor reproductive performance on a beef operation–a population based approach,” third place ($450); Jennine Lection, North Carolina State University, “Does maternal adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH) administration hasten the onset of parturition in the dog?” fourth place ($375); Kelsey DiMiceli, Louisiana State University, “Cystic ovarian disease with inappropriate lactation in a doe,” fifth place ($300); and Lindsey Rothrock, University of Illinois, “Estradiol-17ß and alfa-fetoprotein as diagnostic markers for ascending placentitis in a Quarter Horse broodmare,” sixth place ($200). Student Chapter of the Year Award, sponsored by Hagyard Equine Medical Institute: North Carolina State University and Auburn University finished in a tie, and each received $750 and a banner. T-shirt Design Contest, sponsored by Bovine Services: Auburn University, first place ($300) and Louisiana State University, second place ($100). Student Quiz Bowl, sponsored by Merck Animal Health: North Carolina State University, first place ($300) and Auburn University, second place ($100). Student Poster Competition: Erin Patricia Cambier, Atlantic Veterinary College, “Intermittent hemospermia and pregnancy rate in a Quarter Horse stallion,” first place; Kristina S. Baltutis, North Carolina State University, “Short gestation length in Cavalier King Charles Spaniels,” second place; David Best, Atlantic Veterinary College, “Pyometra in a Standardbred mare,” third place; Brittany Shumack, Auburn University, “Use of progesterone levels to determine due date in a 1.5-year old English Bulldog bitch,” fourth place; Elizabeth Hyde, North Carolina State University, “Estrus staging via vaginal cytology and behavior in Aye-Ayes (Daubentonia madagascariensis),” fifth place; and Madonna Jayne and Wilda Morrison, Atlantic Veterinary College, “Hydroallantois and prepubic tendon rupture in a Standardbred mare,” sixth place.
Business: The society established a task force to review the Bovine Breeding Soundness Evaluation standards. The Theriogenology Foundation is continuing its educational efforts with dog breeders and its support of residency
positions in small animal theriogenology with four new residencies established in 2016.
Officials: Drs. Peter Sheerin, New Freedom, Pennsylvania, president; Isaac Bott, Elk Ridge, Utah, president-elect; Robyn Wilborn, Lafayette, Alabama, vice president; Mike Thompson, Holly Springs, Mississippi, immediate past president; and Jill Colloton, Edgar, Wisconsin, treasurer. Newly elected members of the board of directors are Drs. Todd Anderson, Chipley, Florida; Vanmathy Kasimanickam, Pullman, Washington; and Candace Lyman, Stillwater, Oklahoma.