October 01, 2016


 Education council members selected

​Posted Sept. 14, 2016

Three positions became open for appointment on the AVMA Council on Education when the 2016-2017 Association year began Aug. 5, at the close of the House of Delegates regular annual session. 

The AVMA Council on Education Selection Committee appointed Dr. James Hoffman, Searcy, Arkansas, to a six-year term representing private mixed clinical practice. 

The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges appointed Dr. Trevor Ames, dean of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, to a three-year term representing the AAVMC. The AAVMC COE Selection Committee appointed Dr. Cate Dewey, University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College, to a six-year term representing postgraduate education.

The COE is expected to fill an open position when it meets in September.

The current process for appointing COE members was adopted in July 2013. The AVMA and AAVMC developed separate selection committees that choose eight and seven COE members, respectively. The COE itself elects the three public members of the council, the Canadian VMA appoints the Canadian representative, and the AAVMC appoints a veterinarian. Formerly, the AVMA House of Delegates elected 15 of the council’s 20 members.