October 01, 2016


 Board makes appointments

Posted Sept. 14, 2016

The AVMA Board of Directors, meeting Aug. 3 in San Antonio, named the following individuals to the entities indicated, representing the designated areas. The duration of each term varies. 

Animal Welfare Committee

Association of Avian Veterinarians—Dr. Elizabeth Mackey, Watkinsville, Georgia; American Association of Bovine Practitioners—Dr. Christopher Ashworth, Greenwood, Arkansas; AABP alternate—Dr. Johann Coetzee, Cambridge, Iowa; American Association of Feline Practitioners—Dr. Elizabeth Colleran, Chico, California; American Association of Swine Veterinarians alternate—Dr. Angela Baysinger, Bruning, Nebraska; Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Emily McCobb, North Grafton, Massachusetts; AAVMC alternate—Kathryn Proudfoot, Columbus, Ohio  

Legislative Advisory Committee 

American Association of Bovine Practitioners alternate—Dr. Michael Karle, Orland, California; Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Calvin Johnson, Auburn, Alabama; AAVMC alternate—Dr. Jason Johnson, Ewing,

Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee

American Association of Bovine Practitioners alternate—Dr. Jonathan Garber, Seymour, Wisconsin  

Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee

State or federal regulatory veterinary medicine—Dr. Katherine Haman, Olympia, Washington; American Association of Fish Veterinarians—Dr. Myron Kebus, Madison, Wisconsin  

Committee on International Veterinary Affairs 

Board of directors—Dr. Jose Arce, San Juan, Puerto Rico 

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates

At large—Dr. Susan Gogolski, San Antonio 

Food Safety Advisory Committee

American Association of Bovine Practitioners alternate—Dr. Carla Huston, Mississippi State, Mississippi 

Political Action Committee Board

At large—Dr. Gary Bullard, Austell, Georgia 

Liaison to the One Health Commission board of directors

AVMA Board of Directors—Dr. Joann Lindenmayer, Uxbridge, Massachusetts