October 01, 2016


 Topper and Pritt elected, de Jong runs for president

Posted Sept. 14, 2016 
Updated Sept. 22, 2016

The AVMA House of Delegates elected Dr. Michael Topper as 2016-2017 AVMA president-elect and Dr. Stacy Pritt as 2016-2018 AVMA vice president Aug. 5 during the HOD’s regular annual session in San Antonio.

At the Candidates’ Introductory Breakfast earlier that day, former AVMA Board of Directors chair Dr. John de Jong of Weston, Massachusetts, announced he is running for 2017-2018 AVMA president-elect.

​Dr. Michael Topper ​Dr. Stacy Pritt Dr. John de Jong

Dr. Topper of Harleysville, Pennsylvania, is a 1980 graduate of the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine. He is Pennsylvania’s delegate to the HOD and is a past chair of the AVMA House Advisory Committee. The U.S. Army Veterinary Corps veteran is currently director of clinical pathology for Merck Research Laboratories in West Point, Pennsylvania. Dr. Topper previously oversaw the Division of Pathology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research. He will succeed Dr. Tom Meyer as AVMA president next summer.

As vice president, Dr. Pritt will spend the next two years as the AVMA’s liaison to the Student AVMA and student chapters and as a voting member of the AVMA Board of Directors.

Dr. Pritt is director of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Additionally, she is president of the Women’s Veterinary Leadership Development Initiative and a member of the AVMA Political Action Committee Board. 

A small animal practitioner, Dr. de Jong co-owns Newton Animal Hospital with his wife, Carole. The 1985 graduate of Tufts University’s Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine served 12 years in the HOD and in 2010 was elected to represent AVMA members in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont on the AVMA Board. Dr. de Jong recently completed his six-year Board tenure after having spent his final year as chair. 

Dr. John de Jong of Weston, Massachusetts, represented AVMA members in District I on the Board of Directors from 2010-2016, chairing the Board this past year. District I comprises Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Two of those states were omitted in the Oct. 1 story announcing his candidacy for 2017-2018 AVMA president-elect.