March 01, 2016


 Veterinary Dental Forum

​Posted Feb. 10, 2016

Event: 29th annual forum, Oct. 29-Nov. 1, 2015, Monterey, California
Program: The forum, co-sponsored by the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry, American Veterinary Dental College, and American Veterinary Dental Society, attracted more than 1,100 participants. The specialist-in-training module focused on radiology. Also offered were lectures, briefs, and laboratories and workshops for veterinary dental clinicians and technicians. Dr. Greg Farwell, professor of otolaryngology, vice chair of academic affairs, and director of head and neck oncology and microvascular surgery at the University of California-Davis, presented “Maxillofacial Surgery, a Comparison of Man to Animals.” The forum also served as the venue for the annual meetings of the Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry, Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation, Veterinary Dental Educators Group, and Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians. 

American Veterinary Dental College 

Awards: AVDC Peter Emily Service Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Ira Luskin, Towson, Maryland, in recognition of his extensive contributions in promoting veterinary dentistry. A 1981 graduate of the University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna, Dr. Luskin owns Animal Dental Centers of Baltimore, Annapolis, and Columbia in Maryland, and York, Pennsylvania. He is also the founder of the Animal Dental Training Center of Baltimore, a postgraduate training facility for veterinary dentistry. Dr. Luskin is a diplomate of the AVDC and European Veterinary Dental College and a fellow of the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry. AVDC Robert Wiggs Outstanding Candidate Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Jerzy Gawor, Krakow, Poland. A 1992 graduate of the Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Poland, Dr. Gawor is the co-founder of Arka Veterinary Clinic in Krakow. He is a diplomate of the AVDC and EVDC and a fellow of the AVD. Dr. Gawor serves as president of the Federation of European Companion Animal Veterinary Associations and is a past president of the European Veterinary Dental Society and Polish Small Animal Veterinary Association. Journal of Veterinary Dentistry Debra B. Smith Editor’s Award: Dr. Lisa Fink, Stamford, Connecticut, for “Assessment of 68 prosthodontic crowns in 41 pet and working dogs (2000-2012).” AVDC Presidential Medal for Stewardship Award: Drs. Steve Holmstrom, San Pedro, California; Gary Goldstein, Minneapolis; Mark Smith, Gaithersburg, Maryland; and Curtis Stiles, Leesburg, Virginia. Poster Award: First place—Sonja C. Boy, PhD, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, South Africa, for “Distinct feline papilloma virus sequences from oral mucosal warts in captive African lion and cheetah”; second place—Dr. Stephanie Goldschmidt, University of Wisconsin-Madison, for “The influence of force on the fracture resistance and fracture pattern in dog canine teeth”; and third place— Dr. Rachel Perry, Brighton, England, for “Veterinary students’ attitudes toward small animal dentistry: a questionnaire-based survey.” 
New diplomates: Thirteen new diplomates, including one in the equine dental specialty within the college, were welcomed into the AVDC. They are as follows:
Nicodin Farcas, San Carlos, California
Lisa Fink, Stamford, Connecticut
Jerzy Gawor, Krakow, Poland
Travis Henry, Elkorn, Wisconsin
Steve Honzelka, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Ken Lee, Littleton, Colorado
Tiffany Menke, Austin, Texas
Brenda Mulherin, Ames, Iowa
M.J. Redman, San Antonio
Kristen Scott, Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Patrick Vall, Colorado Springs, Colorado
Erin Vicari, Oakdale, Minnesota 

Equine specialty

Jeff Reisweig, Granville, Ohio  

Academy of Veterinary Dentistry 

Awards: AVD Fellow of the Year Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Rick McFarland, Norwalk, Connecticut, for contributions made toward advancing the field of veterinary dentistry and service to the academy. A 1973 graduate of Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. McFarland recently retired from Norwalk Animal Hospital, a practice he established in 1980 and owned until 2015. He serves as treasurer of the AVD. Dr. Molly Angel, Rochester, Michigan, was welcomed as a new fellow.

American Veterinary Dental Society

Awards: AVDS Education and Research Award, sponsored by Hill’s Pet Nutrition Inc.: Dr. Jason Soukup, Madison, Wisconsin, for contributions in the area of veterinary dentistry and helping to achieve the AVDS mission of a global society for the advancement of veterinary dental knowledge. A 2002 graduate of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Clinical Sciences, Dr. Soukup is a clinical assistant professor in dentistry and oral surgery and co-founder and co-director of the Center for Comparative Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His clinical and research focus is dentoalveolar trauma and oral pathology. Dr. Soukup is a diplomate of the AVDC.  

Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians

The AVDT welcomed newly certified members Kari Blanchard, Reno, Nevada; Kimberly Demars, Mechanicville, New York; Adam Gerhart, San Francisco; Katie Holthusen, St. Petersburg, Florida; Stephanie Johnson, Midvale, Utah; Candace Jones, Brooklyn, New York; and Casey Vaughn, Rochester Hills, Michigan  

Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: Research Grant Award ($5,000): Dr. Jason Soukup, Madison, Wisconsin, for “The influence of distal abrasion on the fracture resistance and fracture pattern of canine teeth in dogs” 

Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation

Awards: Service Award: Russell Farrelly, Seattle, for his support of the foundation.
Officials:  American Veterinary Dental College—Dr. Paul Mitchell, North Attleboro, Massachusetts, president; Academy of Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Larry Kimberlin, Greenville, Texas, president; American Veterinary Dental Society—Dr. Kristin Bannon, Santa Fe, New Mexico, president; Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians—Patricia Dominguez, New York City, president; Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Jamie Anderson, Concord, California, chair