October 15, 2015


 North Carolina VMA

Posted Sept. 30, 2015

Event: Annual meeting, June 25-28, Pinehurst
Awards: Distinguished Veterinarian: Dr. Philip McHugh, Durham, for career achievements and contributions to the veterinary profession and the community. A 1985 graduate of the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. McHugh owns and serves as medical director at Park Vet Hospital in Durham. He is North Carolina’s alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and a member of the Veterinary Management Group. A past president of the NCVMA and a past chair of the NCVMA Finance Committee, Dr. McHugh served on the AVMA Task Force on Continuing Education from 2013-2015. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Sandra Albright, Raleigh. A 1987 graduate of the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Albright owns Crossroads Veterinary Hospital in Raleigh. She has chaired the NCVMA Political Action Committee for the past seven years and is a longtime member of the NCSU-CVM Alumni Society board of directors. Dr. Albright volunteers with several local animal rescue groups and acts as a mentor to preveterinary and veterinary students. Young Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Mindy Wesely, Madison. A 2013 graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Wesely owns Stokesdale Veterinary Hospital. Earlier in her career, she worked in emergency medicine in Thomasville. Dr. Wesely serves as a course coordinator and lecturer at Davidson County Community College and is the NCVMA’s District 6 representative.
Officials: Drs. Kristen Hammett, Waynesville, president; Tom Kuhn, Asheville, president-elect; Steve Stelma, New Bern, vice president; Brenda Stevens, Raleigh, secretary-treasurer; and Shannon Foy, Wilson, immediate past president