July 15, 2015


 Florida names Distinguished Award winners

Posted June 30, 2015

Dr. Natalie Isaza ​Dr. Lauren Davidson ​Dr. Glen Wright ​Dr. Johanna Elfenbein
​(Courtesy of UF CVM)

The University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine awarded its 2015 Distinguished Awards May 23. The awards are given to alumni, faculty, and friends of the college in the categories of Alumni Achievement, Distinguished Service, Special Service, and Outstanding Young Alumni.

Dr. Natalie Isaza (Florida ’94), a professor of shelter medicine heavily involved in community outreach, received the Alumni Achievement Award. She joined UF’s faculty in 2003 and developed the Merial Shelter Medicine Clerkship, now known as the Veterinary Community Outreach Program.

Dr. Isaza also administers a donor-funded program known as Helping Alachua’s Animals Receive Treatment and Surgery, which helps cover the cost of treating shelter animals for medical issues beyond basic spay and neuter. She is a co-founder of the St. Francis House Pet Care Clinic in Gainesville, Florida.

Dr. Lauren Davidson (Florida ’99) received the Distinguished Service Award. A commissioned officer in the U.S. Public Health Service, Dr. Davidson is director of veterinary resources for the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research at the National Institutes of Health.

Dr. Davidson serves on various committees and boards addressing issues among female USPHS officers, including leadership and work-life balance. In addition, she mentors students in the Washington, D.C., area interested in veterinary medicine, science, and technology.

Dr. Pamela Ginn (Colorado State ’83) received the Special Service Award. Dr. Ginn worked several years in small animal private practice and joined UF’s faculty in 1992 after completing a residency in anatomic pathology. She developed UF’s dermatopathology service and is internationally recognized as an expert in skin-related diseases.

Dr. Ginn was named associate dean for students and instruction at the UF veterinary college in 2012 and has played a key leadership role in curricular revision and documentation, student wellness, and establishment of student learning outcomes.

Drs. Glen Wright (Florida ’06) and Johanna Elfenbein (Florida ’07) received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award.
Dr. Wright is director of veterinary technology at Florida A&M University, where he helped guide the FAMU program through accreditation by the AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities. Dr. Wright also serves on the UF veterinary college admissions committee.

Dr. Elfenbein is an assistant professor of equine internal medicine at North Carolina State University. She completed a residency in large animal internal medicine at UF in 2011, soon becoming board-certified in her field. Her research focuses on the pathogenesis of Salmonella bacteria, including identification of novel pathways used by the bacterium to grow in the gastrointestinal tract.