June 01, 2015


 Oregon VMA

Posted May 13, 2015 

Dr. Deborah LaPaugh ​Brandy Kagerer ​Dr. Keith Sides ​Dr. Charles Meyer

Event: Annual meeting, March 6-8, Corvallis
Awards: Animal Welfare Award: Dr. Deborah LaPaugh, Bend, won this award, given in recognition of a veterinarian who has demonstrated outstanding compassion and/or developed programs for the welfare of animals. A 1994 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. LaPaugh owns LaPaw Animal Hospital in Bend. She oversees veterinary services for Project Connect, an annual outreach program that provides care to the homeless and those in need in Crook, Deschutes, and Jefferson counties. Through her efforts of recruiting veterinarians and volunteers, raising funds, and soliciting donations of medical supplies, Dr. LaPaugh helps provide a wide variety of veterinary services to animals of indigent owners. Veterinary Service Award: Fences for Fido, an all-volunteer organization, won this award, given to an individual, group, or organization that has promoted the veterinary profession or the well-being of animals. The mission of FFF is to improve the lives of dogs living outdoors by building them a free fenced yard and an insulated doghouse. The organization also provides these dogs with shelter, veterinary care, and spay/neuter services when necessary. Two years ago, FFF spearheaded the Anti-Tethering Law in Oregon that revised the state’s standards of care for animals. Practice Manager of the Year: Brandy Kagerer, Sandy. Kagerer is practice manager at Sandy Animal Clinic. She manages all facets of the clinic’s operations and assists with patient care as needed. President’s Award: Dr. Keith Sides, Redmond. A 1981 graduate of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Sides practices at Cinder Rock Veterinary Clinic. He was honored for his years of service to organized veterinary medicine and his central Oregon community.
Business: Discussions included recent legislation introduced by the Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board to establish licensure of veterinary facilities, including those run by nonprofit groups such as shelters, and the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s intent to establish rules that would include premise inspections of nontraditional pharmacies.
Officials: Drs. Charles Meyer, Grants Pass, president; Jean Hall, Corvallis, president-elect; Jay B. Fineman, Newport, treasurer; and Steve Amsberry, Corvallis, immediate past president