May 01, 2015


 Ohio VMA

Posted April 16, 2015​  

Dr. Lonnie King ​ Dr. Roger Redman  ​Dr. Richard Wiley  Dr. Brad Garrison
Event: Midwest Veterinary Conference, Feb. 19-22, Columbus
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Lonnie King, Columbus. Dr. King (Ohio State ‘70) is dean of the OSU CVM, also serving as a professor in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine. Earlier, he was administrator of the Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, directed the AVMA Governmental Relations Division, served as dean of the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, and was senior veterinarian with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and pioneered its one-health program. Dr. King is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine and a past president of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges. Distinguished Service Award: Drs. Roger Redman, Wooster, and Richard Wiley, Wooster. Dr. Redman (Ohio State ‘90) owns Ark Veterinary Hospital. He is a past president of the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, on which he is serving his third term. Dr. Redman also serves on the American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Dr. Wiley (Ohio State ‘80) co-owns New Pittsburg Large Animal Clinic. He is chair of the OVMA Bovine Health Task Force, has served on the American Association of Bovine Practitioners board of directors, and guides the dairy educational sessions at the AABP annual conference.
Officials: Drs. Brad Garrison, Wooster, president; Scott Pendleton, Cadiz, president-elect; Tod Beckett, Columbus, vice president; Liesa Stone, Columbus, secretary; Dave Bauman, Maineville, treasurer; David Koncal, Northfield, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Robert Knapp, Columbus, and Linda Lord, Columbus