December 01, 2014


 Association of Avian Veterinarians

Posted Nov. 19, 2014


Dr. Joanne Paul-Murphy ​Dr. Cheryl Greenacre Dr. Kenneth Welle

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 2-6, New Orleans
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Joanne Paul-Murphy, for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1982 graduate of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Paul-Murphy is a professor in the Department of Medicine and Epidemiology and chief of the Companion Avian and Exotic Pets Medicine Program at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. She also directs the Richard M. Schubot Parrot Wellness and Welfare Program at the university. Dr. Paul-Murphy is a diplomate of the American College of Zoological Medicine and American College of Animal Welfare. Speaker of the Year: Dr. Marli Lintner, Lake Oswego, Oregon. A 1984 graduate of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Lintner owns The Avian Medical Center in Lake Oswego. She was chosen as the favorite speaker from the 2013 AAV meeting. Donald W. Zantop Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Yvonne van Zeeland, Utrecht, Netherlands, won this award, given in recognition of her substantial contributions to the AAV and to avian medicine and surgery. A 2004 graduate of the Utrecht University Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. van Zeeland is an assistant professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences of Companion Animals at Utrecht University’s Division of Zoological Medicine. A diplomate of the European College of Zoological Medicine (avian) with a de facto recognition in the small mammal specialty of the college, she also serves as a parrot behavior consultant. Student Manuscript Contest Award: Dr. Mary I.Thurber, Knoxville, Tennessee, for “CT diagnosis of hydrocephalus in African grey parrots.” House Officer Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Delphine Laniesse, Guelph, Ontario, for “Lysosomal storage disease in an 18-month-old African grey parrot (Psittacus erithacus).” AAV Service Appreciation Award: Dr. Steven Metz, Shelburne, Vermont
Officials: Drs. Cheryl Greenacre, Knoxville, Tennessee, president; Kenneth Welle, Urbana, Illinois, president-elect; Patrick Redig, St. Paul, Minnesota, treasurer; and Bruce Nixon, College Station, Texas, immediate past president and conference chair