August 01, 2014


 Technology programs now total 221

Posted July 16, 2014

The AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities took a number of actions during its May 2-4 meeting at AVMA headquarters in Schaumburg, Illinois, including accrediting eight new programs in veterinary technology and withdrawing accreditation from five programs because of voluntary closure.

The newly accredited programs are as follows: 

  • Central Oregon Community College, Bend.
  • Florida A&M University, Quincy.
  • Northeast Iowa Community College, Calmar.
  • Platt College, Riverside, California.
  • Sinclair Community College, Dayton, Ohio.
  • University of New Hampshire, Durham.
  • University of Tennessee at Martin.
  • Westchester Community College, Valhalla, New York.

Sanford Brown Colleges in Dearborn, Michigan; Grand Rapids, Michigan; Portland, Oregon; Fenton, Missouri; and Austin, Texas, were the programs that had their accreditation withdrawn.

In other actions, effective as of May, the CVTEA changed the nomenclature “provisional accreditation” to “initial accreditation,” although the definition and meaning of the accreditation status have not changed. The CVTEA believes replacing the term will more accurately define and convey the accreditation standing and process to stakeholders and the general public (see JAVMA, June 1, 2014).

Also, the AVMA Executive Board established a new policy on the recovery of costs associated with the accreditation of veterinary technology programs at its Jan. 10 meeting. It says the CVTEA needs to recover 50 percent of the costs of accreditation, not including site visit expenses. As a result, the annual fee for programs will be based on 50 percent of the total costs of accreditation, effective July 1, 2015. The estimated annual accreditation fee for 2016 is $1,150. The annual accreditation fee for the 2015 calendar year will remain at $600.

The CVTEA welcomed two new members, Dr. Edward Javorka of Culver, Indiana, who represents clinical veterinary medicine, and Derek Selvage, who represents the public, from Englewood, Colorado. The committee will have the following openings beginning July 2015 for six-year terms:

  • Veterinary technician representing veterinary technicians.
  • Public representative.
  • Veterinarian representing veterinary state boards.

The announcement for nominations will be sent out by the AVMA Office of the Executive Vice President toward the end of the year. The Executive Board selects the new CVTEA members, with the exception of the public representative, who is chosen by the CVTEA.

In all, the number of accredited veterinary technician programs stands at 221. Twenty-two of those programs offer a four-year degree, and eight offer distance-learning opportunities. There are 141 programs assigned full accreditation, 64 assigned initial accreditation, 10 assigned probationary accreditation, and six on terminal accreditation. Currently, Alaska and Montana are the only states, along with the District of Columbia, that do not have AVMA-accredited veterinary technology programs.

Click here to view the complete list.

During its meeting, the CVTEA also evaluated 24 site visit reports and reviewed numerous annual, biennial, interim, and terminal reports, in addition to other requests. The CVTEA has 44 site visits scheduled for 2014, including 15 new programs. A total of 23 programs have applied for accreditation.