May 01, 2014


 Oregon VMA

​Posted April 16, 2014

Dr. Bill Young Monique Balas Gina Schluckebier
Dr. Tom Keck Dr. Steve Amsberry

Event: Annual meeting, March 7-9, Corvallis
Awards: Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Bill Young, Eugene, for exemplary servant leadership to the organization, veterinary profession, and community. A 1970 graduate of Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Young owns West Eugene Animal Hospital and Pleasant Hill Veterinary Clinic in Pleasant Hill. He serves on the Lane County Animal Services Advisory Committee and is active with the Greenhill Humane Society.  Dr. Young is a past chairman of the OVMA Legislative Committee and a past president of the Lane County VMA. He mentors veterinary students at the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Veterinary Service Award: Monique Balas, Portland. Balas is the pet columnist for The Oregonian. She also has a blog on the newspaper’s web site. Balas addresses a variety of animal health topics and educates owners on how best to care for their animals. Practice Manager of the Year: Gina Schluckebier, Springfield. Schluckebier is the practice manager at Oregon Veterinary Referral Associates in Springfield. Since 2002, she has also served as associate director of Banner’s Blood Bank, a nonprofit canine blood bank service. Schluckebier helped establish the Sew Dog Sew program, recruiting seamstresses who volunteer their services to sew coats for dogs living outdoors with their homeless owners. President’s Award: Dr. Tom Keck, Dallas. A 1982 graduate of Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Keck owns Dallas Animal Clinic. He was honored for his advocacy before the state legislature and regulatory agencies on animal health care and welfare issues.
Business: Discussions were held on veterinary drug compounding; transport of controlled substances, veterinary prescriptions and retail and online pharmacies, oversight of nonprofit groups that rescue and care for animals, and licensure of veterinary facilities.
Officials: Drs. Steve Amsberry, Corvallis, president; Charles Meyer, Grants Pass, president-elect; Jay B. Fineman, Newport, treasurer; and Todd McNabb, Clackamas, immediate past president