March 15, 2014


 Michigan VMA

​Posted Feb. 27, 2014 

 ​Dr. Janver D. Krehbiel  ​ Dr. Al W. Stinson

Event: Annual conference, Jan. 24-26, Lansing
Awards: Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Janver D. Krehbiel, Mason. A 1962 graduate of Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, Dr. Krehbiel was acting director of the international program, senior associate dean for administration, and associate dean for academic programs at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine prior to retirement. During his tenure at the college, he also served as director of the clinical pathology laboratory, was acting and associate chair of the Department of Pathology, and served as acting dean. Dr. Krehbiel was chair of the AVMA Executive Board from 2012-2013 and served as the District V representative from 2007-2013. He is a past president of the American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology and Michigan VMA and has served on several AVMA committees and councils, including the Council on Education, Council on Research, and Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities. W. Kenneth McKersie Service Award: Dr. Al W. Stinson, Norcross, Ga., for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, the community, and the Michigan VMA. A 1956 graduate of the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Stinson retired as professor emeritus from Michigan State University in 1994. During his tenure, he taught microscopic anatomy and animal behavior and helped raise money to support research on purebred dogs at the university. A member of the MVMA Legislative Advisory Committee until 2012, Dr. Stinson has supported Michigan dog breeders with legislative lobbying and remains active in the veterinary and dog breeding industries.
Officials: Drs. Therese Burns, Caledonia, president; Julie Cappel, Warren, president-elect; Kevin Stachowiak, Caseville, 1st vice president and treasurer; Bruce Cozzens, Traverse City, 2nd vice president; and Ralph Huff, North Branch, immediate past president