December 15, 2013


 Teaching, research awards conferred

Posted Dec. 4, 2013

The following individuals are winners of the 2013 Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award and the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence. The Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award is given to educators in recognition of their character and leadership qualities as well as their outstanding teaching abilities. The Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence recognizes researchers whose innovative studies have advanced the scientific standing of veterinary medicine. 

Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher

Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence​

Ellen Behrend, VMD, PhD,  Auburn University 

Matthew S. Mellema, DVM, PhD,  University of California-Davis

Craig Webb, DVM, PhD,  Colorado State University

Nathan L. Dykes, DVM,  Cornell University

G. Arthur Donovan, DVM,  University of Florida

Sherry Sanderson, DVM, PhD,  University of Georgia

Anne M. Barger, DVM,  University of Illinois

Gayle B. Brown, DVM,  Iowa State University

Kenneth R. Harkin, DVM,  Kansas State University

Kirk A. Ryan, DVM,  Louisiana State University

Thomas Mullaney, MVB, PhD,  Michigan State University

Judy Lulich, DVM, PhD,  University of Minnesota

Erica D. Baravik-Munsell, DVM,  Mississippi State University

Dusty Nagy, DVM, PhD,  University of Missouri-Columbia

Steven Marks, BVSc,  North Carolina State University

Mary A. McLoughlin, DVM,  The Ohio State University

James Lish, PhD,  Oklahoma State University

Keith Poulsen, DVM, PhD,  Oregon State University

Erika L. Krick, VMD,  University of Pennsylvania

Amy Fauber, DVM,  Purdue University

Donald E. Thrall, DVM, PhD,  Ross University

Sunil Gupta, MVSc,  St. George’s University

Brian K. Roberts, DVM,  St. Matthew’s University

Diane Van Horn Hendrix, DVM,  University of Tennessee

Gerald R. Bratton, DVM, PhD,  Texas A&M University

Sandra L Ayres, DVM, Tufts University

Martha M. Larson, DVM,  Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine

Patricia Talcott, DVM, PhD,  Washington State University

Joseph J. Bertone, DVM,  Western University of Health Sciences

Linda Sullivan, DVM,  University of Wisconsin-Madison  





Dawn M. Boothe, DVM, PhD,  Auburn University

Paul Russell, PhD,  University of California-Davis

Gregory C. Amberg, PhD,  Colorado State University

Jonathan Cheetham, VetMB, PhD,  Cornell University

Sergei G. Tevosian, PhD,  University of Florida

Donald A. Harn, PhD,  University of Georgia

Dan Rock, PhD,  University of Illinois  

Jeffrey J. Zimmerman, DVM, PhD,  Iowa State University  

H. Morgan Scott, DVM, PhD,  Kansas State University  

Mandi J. López, DVM, PhD, Louisiana State University

LoÏc Déjardin, DVM,  Michigan State University

Al Beitz, PhD,  University of Minnesota

Mark L. Lawrence, DVM, PhD,  Mississippi State University

Charles Brown, PhD,  University of Missouri-Columbia

Natasha Olby, VetMB, PhD,  North Carolina State University

Li Wu, PhD,  The Ohio State University

Mason Reichard, PhD,  Oklahoma State University

Stuart Helfand, DVM,  Oregon State University

Carolina P. Lopez, PhD,  University of Pennsylvania

Joanne B. Messick, DVM, PhD,  Purdue University

Ignacio Lizarrago, MVSc, PhD,  Ross University

Ulrike Zieger, DVM,  St. George’s University

Samantha Shields, DVM,  St. Matthew’s University

Barry T. Rouse, DVM, PhD,  University of Tennessee 

Michael C. Golding, PhD,  Texas A&M University 

Sam Rountree Telford III, ScD,  Tufts University 

Woubit Abdela, DVM, PhD,  Tuskegee University 

Gerhardt G. Schurig, DVM, PhD,  Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine

Douglas R. Call, PhD,  Washington State University

Pedro Paulo Vissotto de Paiva Diniz, DVM, PhD,  Western University of Health Sciences

Tony L. Goldberg, DVM, PhD,  University of Wisconsin-Madison