September 01, 2013


 The votes are in

Posted Aug. 21, 2013  
In Chicago, the House of Delegates filled vacancies on AVMA councils and the House Advisory Committee. The results are as follows:

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents

Dr. Michael Hodgman, Zumbrota, Minn., representing members-at-large; Dr. Laurel Gershwin, Davis, Calif., representing immunology; and Dr. K. Fred Gingrich II, Ashland, Ohio, representing private clinical practice, predominantly food animal

Council on Education

Dr. William Epperson, Starkville, Miss.., representing large animal clinical science; and Dr. Caroline Zeiss, New Haven, Conn., representing veterinary medical research

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Stephan Schaefbauer, Raleigh, N.C. , representing agricultural agencies; Dr. Brant Schumaker, Laramie, Wyo., representing public health agencies or the armed forces; and Dr. Elizabeth Wagstrom, Washington, D.C., representing members-at-large

Council on Research

Dr. Anastasha Henderson, Yorba Linda, Calif., representing private clinical practice; and Drs. John Baker, East Lansing, Mich., and Thomas Rosol, Columbus, Ohio, representing veterinary medical research

Council on Veterinary Service

Dr. Karen Rosenthal, Cayman Islands, British West Indies, representing academic clinical science; Dr. Christopher Gargamelli, Durham, Conn., representing members-at-large; and Dr. Jennifer Quammen, Melbourne, Ky., representing recent graduates

Judicial Council

Drs. Steve Barghusen, Minneapolis,  and Marthina Greer, Lomira, Wis., representing members-at-large

House Advisory Committee

Drs. Mark Cox, El Paso, Texas; Timothy Montgomery, Dacula, Ga.; and David Ylander, Alliance, Neb., all representing members-at-large