September 01, 2013



Academy of Veterinary Consultants 

Dr. Mike Apley (KSU ’87), a professor at Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine and section head of production medicine/clinical pharmacology, received the 2013 Outstanding Service Award from the Academy of Veterinary Consultants. The award was given for his work to improve animal health and veterinary medicine by sharing expertise on administration of antimicrobials to livestock.
  Dr. Mike Apley 
The award was given during an AVC meeting in April.

Idaho VMA 

Dr. Jeff Heins (WSU ’84), owner of Rupert Animal Clinic in Rupert was named the Idaho VMA’s Veterinarian of the Year on June 17 during the Jackson Hole Veterinary Rendezvous, hosted by the Idaho and Wyoming VMAs in Jackson Hole, Wyo.
The IVMA recognized Dr. Heins for his outstanding achievements and contributions to the veterinary profession and the association.
Dr. Heins is a past president of the IVMA. He volunteers with the Civil Air Patrol and has served on the advisory boards for the Minidoka Memorial Hospital and Rupert area schools. 

AKC Canine Health Foundation

Dr. Kathryn Meurs (WIS ’90) received the Asa Mays Excellence in Canine Health Research Award from the American Kennel Club Canine Health Foundation on Aug. 10. She is the associate dean of Research and Graduate Studies at North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Meurs also is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine with a subspecialty in cardiology. She was recognized for being a leader in comparative genetics research. Dr. Meurs has a special interest in inherited heart disease, cardiomyopathy, and pharmacogenomics.