July 15, 2013



Posted July 1, 2013

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges

  Dr. Daryl Buss
The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges has named Dr. Daryl Buss (MIN ’68) as the new editor-in-chief of the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education. Dr. Buss is dean emeritus and professor emeritus of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine. He is also a past president of the AAVMC. Dr. Buss replaces Dr. Henry Baker at the JVME, which is the AAVMC’s peer-reviewed, scholarly journal. Dr. Buss’ research interests include coronary physiology and ventricular performance.
He earned his master’s and doctorate from UW-Madison. He completed specialty training in clinical cardiology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine and conducted a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Experimental Cardiology at the Max Planck Institute for Physiological and Clinical Research in Bad Nauheim, Germany. 

American Association for the Advancement of Science


  Dr. Erin Casey​   Dr. Shannon Mesenhowski
Drs. Erin Casey and Shannon Mesenhowski, both members of the AVMA’s inaugural Future Leaders class, have accepted fellowships with the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowships are highly competitive and use a peer-review selection process. Starting in September, fellows spend a year working in one of five areas, where they contribute to the federal policymaking process while learning firsthand about the intersection of science and policy.
Dr. Casey (GA ’10) will be working at the State Depart­ment in the Office of Cooperative Threat Reduction within the Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation. She has worked at a private practice in northern Virginia since 2011. Dr. Casey has been both a participant and facilitator of the AVMA Veterinary Leadership Experience for veterinary students and currently chairs the Veterinary Leadership Conference Planning Committee.
Dr. Mesenhowski (MIN ’10) will spend her AAAS fellowship year at the U.S. Agency for International Development as a food security policy research and outreach specialist. Dr. Mesenhowski, who also earned a master’s in public health from the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, currently works at a private small animal practice in Minnesota. 

Americans for Medical Progress

  Christopher B. Thomson
Christopher B. Thomson (MIN ’15) has been awarded the 2013 Michael D. Hayre Fellowship in Public Outreach, established by Americans for Medical Progress in 2008. The award is meant to promote peer education about animal research among students and young adults.
Thomson’s project, “The Veterinary Impact,” will focus on student-to-student outreach at veterinary schools and conferences across America. Through campus presentations, workshops, and media initiatives, Thomson will seek to build and maintain informed understanding and acceptance of the importance of animals in biomedical research. His project will also feature a website and series of posters.
Thomson graduated from Iowa State University with bachelor’s degrees in animal science and international agriculture.
Thomson is a Student AVMA delegate, a student liaison for the American Association of Veterinary State Boards, and founder and vice president of Minnesota’s Research Animal Medicine Club for veterinary students interested in research.