June 01, 2013


 Louisiana VMA

Posted on May 15, 2013

Dr. Dale Peyroux

Annual meeting, Jan. 25-27, New Orleans
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Mike Strain, Covington. A 1983 graduate of Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Strain serves as commissioner of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. He also co-owns Claiborne Hill Veterinary Hospital with his wife, Dr. Susan Strain (LSU ’84). Dr. Strain is a past president of the LVMA. Dr. Everett D. Besch Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Doug Brandon, Leesville. A 1971 graduate of Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Brandon owns Brandon Veterinary Clinic, a small animal practice in Leesville. He also volunteers with local veterinary organizations. Pet of the Year: Sendy, a German Shepherd Dog belonging to the Louisiana State University Police Department, won this award. Trained to detect explosives, Sendy has worked with her handler for four years and has assisted with sweeping numerous events, including LSU home football games at Tiger Stadium. Support Person of the Year: Katie Hoolan, Ruston. A veterinary assistant at Ruston Animal Clinic, Hoolan has been instrumental in the running of the practice. Sales Person of the Year: Missy Gribble, Hallsville, Texas. A sales representative for Zoetis, formerly Pfizer Animal Health, Gribble is known for her pleasant demeanor and willingness to accommodate her clients.
Officials: Drs. Dale Peyroux, Hammond, president; Sue Olivier, Marrero, president-elect; Kirk Ryan, Baton Rouge, vice president; Amy Grayson, Prairieville, treasurer; and Brad Everson, Shreveport, immediate past president