December 15, 2012


 American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists

​Posted Dec. 6, 2012 
Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 17-20, Portland, Ore.
Awards: Cynthia Wheeler Memorial Award: Best resident manuscript, case report—Dr. Jay Harrington, North Carolina State University, for “Phacoemulsification and +14 diopter intraocular lens placement in a Saddlebred foal”; Best Resident Manuscripts, sponsored by Veterinary Ophthalmic Specialties Inc. and ACVO: Clinical research—Dr. Jay Harrington, North Carolina State University, for “Diode laser endoscopic cyclophotocoagulation in the normal equine eye”; Basic science research—Dr. Ann P. Bosiack, University of Missouri-Columbia, for “Canine corneal fibroblast and myofibroblast transduction with AAV5.”  
New diplomates: Twenty-five new diplomates were welcomed into the ACVO. They are as follows:
Eva Abarca-Piedrafita, Raleigh, N.C.
Anna-Michelle (Micki) Armour, Leesburg, Va.
Trevor Arnold, Loveland, Colo.
Laura Barnes, Austin, Texas
Gil Ben-Shlomo, Ames, Iowa
Sarah Blackwood, Miami
Cassandra Bliss, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Amanda T. Corr, Norristown, Pa.
Paige Evans, Marina del Ray, Calif.
Kristin Fischer, Columbia, S.C.
Erin Gunderson, Waukesha, Wis.
Jay Harrington, Raleigh, N.C.
Kevin Kaiser, Spokane, Wash.
Kristin Anne Konrade, Pasadena, Calif.
Rachel Mathes, Portland, Maine
Richard McMullen, Raleigh, N.C.
Peter Mohoric, Lovettsville, Va.
Nancy Park, Chicago
Stephanie Pumphrey, Stow, Mass.
Nicole Roybal, San Diego
Jessica Slack, Manhattan, Kan.
Amy Treadwell, Charlotte, N.C.
Gabriel Van Brunt, Dallas
Neal Wasserman, Las Vegas
Kathryn Wotman, Kirkwood, Pa.
Officials: Drs. Robert English, Cary, N.C., president; Nick Millichamp, Houston, president-elect; Steven Hollingsworth, Davis, Calif., vice president; Michael Paulsen, Arlington, Texas, secretary-treasurer; and Brian Gilger, Raleigh, N.C., immediate past president