December 01, 2012



Posted Nov. 19, 2012  

American Association of Bovine Practitioners

Seven veterinarians were honored for their contributions to the veterinary profession and cattle health Sept. 22 in Montreal during the 45th Annual Conference of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners.

 Dr. Earl P. Aalseth
 Dr. Roger G. Ellis
 Dr. Allan M. Britten
 Dr. W. Mark Hilton
 Dr. Keith Sterner
 Dr. Arthur D. Currey​  Dr. Jennifer A. Hatcher​  Dr. John B. Herrick  Dr. James A. Jarrett
Dr. Earl P. Aalseth of Lake Stevens, Wash., received the Boehringer Ingelheim AABP 2012 Practitioner of the Year Award.

Dr. Roger G. Ellis of Granville, N.Y., received the AABP Award of Excellence.

Dr. Allan M. Britten of Boise, Idaho, received the Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award for dairy cattle medicine.

Dr. W. Mark Hilton of West Lafayette, Ind., received the Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award for beef cattle medicine.

Dr. Keith Sterner of Ionia, Mich., received the Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Arthur D. Currey of Fowlerville, Mich., received the Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award.

Dr. Jennifer A. Hatcher of College Grove, Tenn., received the Merial James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders.

Two veterinarians were honored posthumously for careers that helped reduce disease in cattle.

Drs. John B. Herrick of Paradise Valley, Ariz., and James A. Jarrett of Rome, Ga., were inducted into the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame during the conference. The hall of fame is sponsored by the AABP, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, the trade journal Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health, and Osborn Barr.

Dr. Herrick, who was AVMA president from 1969-1970, was inducted for his work in the beef cattle industry to develop preconditioning programs for weaned calves and to control brucellosis and mastitis. He died May 17, 2007.

Dr. Jarrett helped found the AABP in 1964 and was executive vice president from 1993-2005. He was honored as a dairy expert who focused on milk quality, dairy nutrition, and reproduction. He developed one of the nation’s first milk quality programs. He died Jan. 22, 2005.