September 15, 2012


 California VMA

Posted Sept. 5, 2012
  Dr. Donald J. Klingborg​   Dr. Richard L. Schumacher​   Dr. Jon Peek​
  Linda Markland​   Dr. Chris Cowing​   Dr. Ronald Kelpe
Event: Annual Pacific Veterinary Conference, June 28-July 1, San Francisco
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Drs. Donald J. Klingborg, Davis, and Richard L. Schumacher, Benecia, for their service to California veterinarians, organized veterinary medicine, academic veterinary medicine, and the CVMA. A 1972 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Klingborg recently retired as associate dean for public programs, director of veterinary medicine extension, and  director of the School of Veterinary Medicine’s Center for Continuing Professional Education at UC-Davis. He also led the university’s Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources’ strategic advocacy and county partnership programs. Dr. Klingborg is a past chair of the AVMA Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents and CVMA House of Delegates and a past co-chair of the CVMA Animal Welfare Committee. He helped develop the CVMA Mentoring Presentation Kit, its internship/residency program, and the annual Don Low/CVMA Practitioner Fellowship Program. Dr. Schumacher, a 1961 graduate of Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, served as executive director of the CVMA for 13 years prior to retirement in 2004. Under his directorship, the association achieved financial security, increased membership, and strengthened its legislative position. Dr. Schumacher was instrumental in creating the California Coalition of Companion Animal Advocates and the association’s regulatory manual for membership. He also helped establish the Don Low/CVMA Practitioner Fellowship Program, managed a feral cat and low income spay/neuter program, helped build, and molded the association’s insurance program. Dr. Schumacher is a past president of the CVMA, serves on the CVMA Legislative Committee, chairs the Physical Therapy Task Force, and is an area disaster coordinator. Earlier in his career, he owned Redwood Veterinary Hospital, a small animal practice in Vallejo. Outstanding RVT of the Year (nonprivate practice): Linda Markland, Yorba Linda. Markland is the senior veterinary education specialist for Veterinary Pet Insurance Company. In 1995, she created the department at VPI that educates and provides services to veterinarians and their teams on pet insurance and the role of veterinary technicians in a successful practice. Markland chairs the CVMA RVT Committee and the practice management track for the Pacific Veterinary Conference and serves on the CVMA Allied Industry Committee. Meritorious Service Award: Nicole Montroy, Napa, won this award, given to those providing special attention to or promoting the human-animal bond in California. Montroy recently retired as chief executive officer of Alley Cat Guardians, a nonprofit organization in Modesto that promotes the humane control of feral cats through trapping/neutering/returning and by finding adoptive homes for tame cats and kittens. As CEO, Montroy oversaw day-to-day operations of Alley Cat Guardians, including fundraising, transportation, and distribution of food donations for feral colonies. She also helped establish the organization’s veterinary facility. Distinguished Life Membership Award: Dr. Jon Peek, Grass Valley. A 1966 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Peek owned a small animal hospital in Grass Valley prior to retirement. He is a past president of the CVMA, is a past chair of the CVMA House of Delegates, and has served on the California Veterinary Medical Foundation and several CVMA committees. Most recently, Dr. Peek chaired the task force that developed the CVMA Certified Veterinary Assistant Program.
Officials: Drs. Chris Cowing, Foster City, president; Ronald Kelpe, Coto de Caza,  president-elect; George Bishop, Carmel, treasurer; and Jay Kerr, San Ramon, immediate past president