September 15, 2012


 The votes are in for AVMA councils and HAC

Posted on September 5, 2012
In San Diego, the House of Delegates filled vacancies on AVMA councils and the House Advisory Committee. The results are as follows.

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents

Dr. Edward Wakem, Chesterfield, Va., representing members-at-large

Council on Education

Dr. Mary Beth Leininger, Lawrence, Kan., representing members-at-large; Dr. Patrick Farrell, Russell, Pa., representing private food animal clinical practice; and Dr. Billy Martindale, Denison, Texas, representing private clinical practice

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine

Drs. Joanna Davis, Tifton, Ga., and Stephan Schaefbauer, Raleigh, N.C., representing agricultural agencies

Council on Research

Dr. Sreenivasa Donapaty, Chamblee, Ga., representing private clinical practice

Council on Veterinary Service

Dr. Gay Gira, Ada, Mich., representing private practice, exclusively small animal

Judicial Council

Dr. Beth Thompson, St. Paul, Minn., representing members-at-large

House Advisory Committee

Dr. George Bishop, Carmel, Calif., representing predominantly small animal; Dr. Kenneth Bartels, Stillwater, Okla., representing teaching and research; and Dr. Michael Topper, Harleysville, Pa., representing members-at-large (temporarily reclassified from private practice, predominantly food animal)