September 15, 2012


 Board appoints liaisons, representatives to committees

Posted Sept. 5, 2012
The AVMA Executive Board, meeting Aug. 1 in San Diego, named the following individuals to the entities indicated, representing the designated areas. The duration of each term varies.

Animal Welfare Committee

American Animal Hospital Association alternate—Dr. Jennafer Glaesemann, Beatrice, Neb.

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. David McKenzie, Tuskegee, Ala.

Committee on Environmental Issues

Veterinary ecology—Dr. Laurie Harris, Davis, Calif.

Food Safety Advisory Committee

American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners alternate—Dr. Michael Rings, Dublin, Ohio; American Association of Bovine Practitioners alternate—Dr. William McBeth, Morgantown, Pa.

Governance Performance Review Committee

House of Delegates—Dr. Timothy Montgomery, Dacula, Ga.

Member Services Committee

Private clinical practice, predominantly food animal—Dr. Aaron Gibbons, Lethbridge, Alberta

State Advocacy Committee

Area 2, Central states—Dr. Daniel Griffiths, Lomira, Wis.; Legislative Advisory Committee—Dr. Rowland Kinkler, East Lyme, Conn.

Liaison to the National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Risk from Animal Contact Compendium

AVMA/Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine—Dr. Kendra Stauffer, Gainesville, Fla.

Liaison to the National Aquatic Animal Health Task Force

AVMA/Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee—Dr. Roxanna Smolowitz, Bristol, R.I.