April 15, 2012


 Minnesota VMA

Posted April 1, 2012
Dr. Howe Dr. Hurley
 Dr. John Howe  Dr. Sharon Hurley

Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 2-4, Minneapolis
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. John Howe, Grand Rapids. A 1977 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Howe established what is now known as North Country Veterinary Clinic in Grand Rapids. He chairs the Minnesota Aquatic Livestock Committee, is a member of the MVMA Governmental Affairs Committee, and was recently elected to serve as District VII representative on the AVMA Executive Board. Dr. Howe is vice chair of both the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service and AVMA Governance Performance Review Committee. He is a past president of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health, Minnesota VMA, and Arrowhead VMA. A certified fish health inspector for the state of Minnesota, Dr. Howe is a member of the World Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Association. Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Sandra Godden, St. Paul, won this award, given for outstanding service to Minnesota veterinarians, for giving time and talent to the veterinary profession, and for contributing to organized veterinary medicine. A 1993 graduate of the University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College, Dr. Godden is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Population Medicine at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. She is known for her work with baby calf physiology and husbandry as they relate to colostrum transfer and colostrum and milk pasteurization. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Meg Glattly, Eagan, for special service to the profession of veterinary medicine and improving the profession as a result of that service. A 1979 graduate of Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Glattly practices at Woodlake Veterinary Hospital. First appointed to the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine in 1997, she has served on the board for 12 years, including its complaint committee and as a liaison to the Health Professional Service Exam for the state. Dr. Glattly is a past chair of the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and has served on the board of directors of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Veterinary Service Award: David Perry, St. Paul, won this award, given to individuals who have promoted the veterinary profession or the well-being of animals. Prior to retirement in fall 2011, Perry served 13 years as chief executive officer of the Veterinary Hospitals Association. He is vice president of the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Foundation board of directors and a member of the American Society of Association Executives and Midwest Society of Association Executives. President's Award: Dr. Bill Hartmann, Hastings. A 1978 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hartmann is Minnesota state veterinarian and executive director of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health. Under him, the state has eradicated bovine tuberculosis and regained TB-free status. Dr. Hartmann has also helped fight chronic wasting disease and avian influenza, contributing to national policy on managing the H1N1 flu virus in swine populations. Outstanding Industry Representative Award: Dr. Steve Stewart, Woodbury. A 1980 graduate of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Stewart is an executive with Valley Ag Software, teaching and training veterinarians on critical thinking and the use of dairy records for decision making. Earlier, Dr. Stewart worked at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. Life membership: This designation was granted to Drs. Harvey Aluni, Virginia; John Baillie, Stillwater; John Bowron, Luverne; Dennis Brewer, White Bear Lake; William Habedank, Red Wing; Daniel Heiden, Minnetonka; Glen Madsen, Redwood Falls; Richard McConnell, Newport; Carl Osborne, Roseville; Daniel Pearson, LaPorte; Jerald Sprau, Elkton; Byron Sugden, Effie; Marvin Trandem, Fairbault; John Youngberg, Milaca; and Glen Zebarth, Alexandria. The Minnesota Veterinary Medical Foundation awarded scholarships to seven veterinary students for their passion and dedication to the veterinary profession.
Officials: Drs. Sharon Hurley, New Ulm, president; John Baillie, Stillwater, president-elect; Alan Sletten, Fergus Falls, vice president; Jerald Sprau, Elkton, secretary-treasurer; and Michael Hodgman, Zumbrota, immediate past president.