August 15, 2011


 Community Assemblies

American Academy of Veterinary Nutrition

Ms. Beloshapka

Alison Beloshapka

Dr. Pratt-Phillips

Dr. Shannon Pratt-Phillips 

Event: 11th annual clinical nutrition and research symposium, June 15, Denver
Program: The conference featured oral abstracts and poster presentations on nutrition research conducted at 10 institutions. They are published in the Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition. The keynote speaker, Dr. Matthew Hickey of Colorado State University, gave a presentation titled "Of mice and men: integrative and comparative physiology of insulin action."
Awards: AAVN/ACVN Student Nutrition Research Award, sponsored by Waltham: Alison Beloshapka, who is completing her doctorate in nutrition in the Department of Animal Sciences at the University of Illinois, Urbana. Beloshapka earned the award for her research in the area of fecal characteristics, nutrient digestibility, and serum metabolite concentrations of adult dogs fed raw meat diets. Service awards: Drs. Richard Hill, University of Florida, and Korinn Saker, North Carolina State University.
Business: Founded more than 50 years ago, the AAVN provides a forum for collegial discussions among veterinarians, academic nutritionists, and industrial nutritionists. A major initiative for 2011-2012 is a nutrition-based webinar developed for animal scientists, veterinarians, and veterinary technicians who want to learn more about how the National Research Council's requirements for multiple species are translated into applied nutrition. Also, the AAVN announced that AAVN/ACVN research grant proposals for the coming year are due by Sept. 1, 2011.
Officials: Drs. Shannon Pratt-Phillips, Raleigh, N.C., president; Samantha Shields, Grand Cayman, British West Indies, vice president; Sarah K. Abood, East Lansing, Mich., treasurer; Amanda Ardente, Gainesville, Fla., secretary; Janine Oliver, Greensboro, N.C., and Patrick Nguyen, France, members-at-large; Joe Wakshlag, Ithaca, N.Y., immediate past president; and Wilbur Amand, West Chester, Pa., executive director.