July 01, 2011


 Community Assemblies

Posted June 15, 2011

Dr. Rayburn
Dr. Jerry L. Rayburn

Dr. Pennington
Dr. James E. Pennington

Dr. Morgan
Dr. Donald H. Morgan

Dr. Kanzler
Dr. James A. Kanzler

Event: 82nd annual conference, April 29-May 1, Orlando
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jerry L. Rayburn, Winter Haven. A 1982 graduate of Oklahoma State University, Dr. Rayburn owns Carter Animal Hospital in Winter Haven. He serves as the FVMA District 3 representative and has helped develop guidelines for veterinary practices and pet owners in the district. Dr. Rayburn also volunteers with the Polk County Humane Society. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. James E. Pennington, Melrose, for exceptional achievements and contributions to veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession. A 1969 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Pennington owned a practice in Stark prior to retirement and now manages Fuller Veterinary in Melrose on a part-time basis. He is a past president of the FVMA, past chair of the FVMA Membership Committee, past FVMA District 2 representative, and past senior veterinary consultant to the association. Dr. Pennington also helped establish the FVMA Industry Advisory Council. Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Donald H. Morgan, Belleair, Fla. A 1964 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Morgan owned Bluffs Animal Hospital in Belleair Bluffs prior to retirement and now practices there part time. He serves as FVMA District 4 representative and is active with the Pinellas County VMA and the American Animal Hospital Association. President's Award: Dr. Ralph S. Wilhelm Jr. was honored posthumously for dedication and service to the veterinary profession and to his community. Dr. Wilhelm was a 1960 graduate of Auburn University and owned Fruitville Veterinary Clinic in Sarasota, where he practiced for more than 30 years. He was a past president of the FVMA and served as vice president of the AVMA from 1993-1995. Dr. Wilhelm helped establish the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine.
Officials: Drs. James A. Kanzler, Bradenton, president; John R. Bass, Port Orange, president-elect; Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville, treasurer; and Jan M. Hasse, Sarasota, immediate past president

American Board of Veterinary Practitioners

Dr. Dong
Theodora Charli Dong

Dr. Datz
Dr. Craig Datz

Event: 16th annual symposium, April 28-May 1, St. Louis
Program: This year's symposium drew 270 diplomates, candidates, applicants, and general attendees. More than 20 hours of continuing education were offered. For the first time, the symposium featured eight complete tracks, including a technician track and tracks in avian, canine, equine, exotic companion mammal, feline, food animal, and reptile and amphibian medicine. The technician track was the result of a new partnership with the Academy of Veterinary Technicians in Clinical Practice. An interactive lab in rabbit dentistry was another addition to this year's symposium offerings.
Awards: Companion Animal Student Case Report Award, sponsored by Merial: Theodora Charli Dong, Western University of Health Sciences, for "Diagnosis of hypospadias in a dog using cystourethrogram."
Officials: Drs. Craig Datz, Columbia, Mo., president; Stephen Foulke, Lititz, Pa., president-elect; Michael Erskine, Mount Airy, Md., vice president; Nicholas Nelson, Lynwood, Wash., treasurer; Teresa Lightfoot, Tampa, Fla., immediate past president; Kemba Marshall, Phoenix, avian regent; Robert Sager, Wilsall, Mont., beef cattle regent; Norris McGehee, Memphis, Tenn., canine/feline regent; Scott Poock, Booneville, Mo., dairy regent; Jeanne Pittari, Houston, feline regent; Ross Cowart, Columbia, Mo., food animal regent; James Kober, West Olive, Mich., swine health management regent; Michael Dutton, Weare, N.H., exotic companion mammal regent; John Dascanio, Basseterre, St. Kitts, equine regent; Eric Klaphake, Bozeman, Mt., reptile and amphibian regent; and Kimberlee Buck, Birch Run, Mich., regent-at-large