February 01, 2011


 Nine veterinarians to aid USDA on animal health issues

Posted Jan. 15, 2011 

Nine veterinarians are part of a 20-member committee that will advise the Secretary of Agriculture on animal disease prevention, control, and surveillance.

The Department of Agriculture provided Dec. 9 the names of the veterinarians and others working in livestock-related fields who will serve two-year terms on the Advisory Committee on Animal Health. The committee members will "consider the implications of public health, conservation of natural resources, and the stability of livestock economies" in their advisory duties for Secretary Tom Vilsack, a USDA press release states.

The committee's formation re-establishes with a broader scope the former Secretary's Advisory Committee for Foreign Animal and Poultry Diseases, USDA information states.

The following veterinarians were chosen to serve on the committee:

  • Dr. John R. Fischer, a professor who is involved in wildlife disease pathology and epidemiology at the University of Georgia.
  • Dr. Howard T. Hill, director of external affairs for Iowa Select Farms.
  • Dr. Donald E. Hoenig, Maine state veterinarian and an agricultural agency representative on the AVMA Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine.
  • Dr. Charles E. Massengill, a former state epidemiologist and former director of a state and federal cooperative animal health laboratory in Missouri.
  • Dr. Boyd H. Parr, South Carolina state veterinarian and an alternate delegate in the AVMA House of Delegates.
  • Dr. Willie M. Reed, dean of the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine, co-chair of the AVMA/Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges Joint Committee, and the academic veterinary medicine representative on the AVMA Member Services Committee.
  • Dr. Philip A. Stayer, corporate veterinarian for the Mississippi-based Sanderson Farms.
  • Dr. Elizabeth A. Wagstrom, the American Association of Swine Veterinarians' representative on the AVMA Food Safety Advisory Committee and a professor of veterinary population medicine at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine.
  • Dr. Cindy B. Wolf, a sheep and cattle farmer, a camelid field service veterinarian for the University of Minnesota, and alternate representative for the American Sheep Industry Association on the AVMA Animal Agriculture Liaison Committee.

The AVMA nominated Drs. Hoenig and Wagstrom.

The committee's first meeting was scheduled for January 2011.