November 15, 2010



Posted Nov. 1, 2010

Dr. Cathy Johnson-Delaney

Dr. Joerg Mayer

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 8, San Diego
Program: The meeting drew 75 attendees. The immediate past president of the AEMV, Dr. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, presided over the meeting.
Awards:Service Award: Dr. Cathy A. Johnson-Delaney, Edmonds, Wash., for her commitment to the AEMV and her dedication to its vision. A 1980 graduate of Washington State University and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice and exotic companion mammal practice), Dr. Johnson-Delaney is a clinician at Eastside Avian and Exotic Animal Medical Center in Kirkland, Wash. Known for her expertise in endocrine disease and multineoplastic syndrome in ferrets, she serves as medical director for the Washington Ferret Rescue & Shelter and is the consulting veterinarian for the Oregon Tiger Sanctuary and the Pacific Primate Sanctuary.
Business: Topics of discussion included long-term strategic planning to help the AEMV achieve its goals and realize its mission statement. It was announced that the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners certified the first group of diplomates in exotic companion mammal practice, following the board certification examination held in November 2009 (see JAVMA, March 1, 2010). The AEMV will be meeting with the Association of Avian Veterinarians and the Association of Reptile and Amphibian Veterinarians in Seattle in 2011. The AEMV Research Committee has two grants available for the funding of original scientific research.
Officials: Drs. Joerg Mayer, North Grafton, Mass., president; Vittorio Capello, Milano, Italy, president-elect; Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., secretary; Dan Johnson, Raleigh, N.C., treasurer; and Cathy Johnson-Delaney, Edmonds, Wash., immediate past president

Iowa VMA

Dr. Randy L. Wheeler

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 16-17, Ames
Awards:Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Randy L. Wheeler, Winterset. A 1977 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Wheeler is Iowa state assistant veterinarian. He also serves as coordinator of the Iowa Veterinary Rapid Response Team, helping to protect the state's animal industry.
Officials: Drs. Teresa A. Carmichael, Oskaloosa, president; William J. Williams, Ames, president-elect; Jodie A. Pettit, Audubon, vice president; and David D. Whitney, West Des Moines, immediate past president