November 01, 2010


 25 scholarships handed out by AVMF

Posted Oct. 18, 2010 
Veterinary students from across the country have won scholarships from the American Veterinary Medical Foundation through its 2010 Veterinary Student Scholarship Program. Twenty-three students each won $1,000 scholarships, some of which are being funding by the Mildred Sylvester Fund.

The recipients and their career interests are as follows:

  • Elisha Adkins (ORS '13), food animal medicine.
  • Talia Agone (COL '12), shelter medicine.
  • Matt Brewer (ISU '13), research/production animal medicine.
  • Kayla Cochran (COL '13), mixed animal medicine.
  • Brett Darrow (WIS '12), mixed animal medicine.
  • Halyna Deihl (NCU '12), shelter medicine/disaster preparedness.
  • Harrison Dudley (NCU '12), large animal medicine.
  • Melissa Fleishman (NCU '12), aquatic medicine.
  • Jennafer Glaesemann (ISU '12), production animal medicine.
  • Michele James (MSU '12), equine medicine/underserved communities.
  • Olivia Carmen Kilian (MIN '11), small animal veterinary dentistry.
  • Jacqueline Koehne (ORS '13), shelter medicine.
  • Cheryl Kolus (COL '12), mixed animal medicine/animal behavior.
  • Jason Lott (COL '13), food animal medicine.
  • Christine McPherson Long (NCU '11), large animal medicine.
  • Jane Na (MSU '12), laboratory animal medicine.
  • Kelly Patyk (COL '13), public health.
  • Cassandra Peterson (IL '13), food animal medicine.
  • Rochelle Reddig (KSU '13), mixed animal medicine.
  • Shanna Rietmann (ORS '13), large animal medicine.
  • Stephanie Sabshin (FL ' 12), shelter medicine/disaster preparedness.
  • Jessica Sherrill (AUB '12), mixed animal medicine.
  • Kimberly Unger (ISU '12), public health.

Two other students also received Foundation-affiliated scholarships this fall.

Joseph Esch, a third-year student at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, was awarded the American Kennel Club/AVMF Award. Esch was recognized for his commitment to the study of veterinary medicine, specifically in the research of purebred dogs. The scholarship, in the amount of $6,000, is intended for use for tuition, fees, books, supplies, and equipment.

The Winn Feline Foundation-AVMF Excellence in Feline Research Award and Student Scholarship for 2010 went to Adam Breiteneicher. He is a third-year student at Auburn University School of Veterinary Medicine. Breiteneicher received $2,500 as part of the scholarship.