September 15, 2010


 New board leaders, member take seats

September 1, 2010

Dr. John R. Brooks (right) succeeds Dr. John R. Scamahorn
as chair of the AVMA Executive Board.

The AVMA Executive Board, meeting Aug. 3, elected a new chair and vice chair and installed a new member.

Dr. John R. Brooks of Kingsville, Md., succeeded Dr. John R. Scamahorn of Greencastle, Ind., as chair of the board. The board's new vice chair is Dr. Theodore J. Cohn of Lone Tree, Colo.

The board also welcomed Dr. John H. de Jong of Weston, Mass., as a new member. Dr. de Jong, a small animal practitioner, succeeds Dr. Douglas G. Aspros as District I representative. District I comprises Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont.